Fingerprints on the World


dantaw One day, I was looking at a post on Facebook that a friend had made. There was a picture of  her little boy’s hand print on something and she made the comment that he left his mark everywhere. As she talked about how she was going to miss those moments, I began to think about my Dantaw ( This is the nickname that we called my grandpa) and the fingerprints that he left on our lives.

 When our kids were little, we would take them to visit their M.J.(Our Grandma) and Dantaw and  let them play. In the back of their house was a sliding glass door that the kids loved to play around.  As our kids would play, they would leave tiny fingerprints and hand prints on the door. After we would leave, my M.J. would begin to clean up. One day she began to clean that glass door and my Dantaw stopped her and told her to leave those little finger prints on that glass so he could look at them while we were gone. He said it made him think of the kids and the joy they had brought to him while they were there.

  • dantaw2      My Dantaw has been gone for a few years now, but his fingerprints and hand prints are still here with us everyday. They remind us of the joy that he brought to our lives while he was here. Even though he is greatly missed,I am so thankful for the legacy that he left behind for us.

Now, here is a question for us to Ponder. What kind of fingerprints will we leave behind? What will people remember about us when we are gone? I pray that I leave fingerprints of love, joy, peace, gentleness, and most of all,I pray I leave fingerprints of  God’s love and His message of  forgiveness for all to see.

Pictures courtesy of Cynthia Hill Collier

One thought on “Fingerprints on the World

  1. yolanda says:

    Yes, me too, sweetheart ! ……

    I pray that I leave fingerprints of love, joy, peace, gentleness, and most of all,I pray I leave fingerprints of God’s love and His message of forgiveness for all to see.

    Like

Please share your thoughts

