Life Has Many States: What Will You Do With Them?


image

Philippians 4:11 KJV

Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.

I understand that this verse is not talking about physical states, but as I read it, I can’t help but think of our years as a missionary family.

Growing us as a missionary kid I often found myself in many different state, meeting many different people. We met a lot of new people and we also made a lot of great friend.

We were blessed to be a part of many great experiences of which I have many fond memories. We were able to go deep sea fishing in New Jersey. We got to go to Six Flags over Georgia, and even got to spend some time in the Carolinas. Those are memories that I will hold onto forever.

We also found ourselves in states that were not so enjoyable. These states were not physical states, however they were emotional and mental states. Many times we found ourselves in a state of loneliness as we had to leave loved ones behind in order to do God’s work. At times we found ourselves in a state of exhaustion from the many miles we would travel raising support for our ministry. And finally we found ourselves in a state of helplessness as our family faced a tragedy that we had no idea how to overcome.

I can relate to Paul as he speaks about the different “states” in which he found himself. But, I am also very encouraged by the words that he has for us in Philippians 4:11 as he says, “I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.

Looking back over the years, I see how God brought us through each state. Whether physical or mental, God had a plan for each one. He knew just what He was doing as he guided us each step of the way.

I hope as you read this, that you will find some encouragement in this story. I pray that as God takes you through each state of your life, that you will allow Him to speak to you, use you, and speak through you.

My prayer is this: As we share in God’s word together, I want us to make a point to be content wherever God takes us.

3 thoughts on “Life Has Many States: What Will You Do With Them?

  1. yolanda says:

    Wow! I absolutely LOVE this! The “ease” of reading this and the “flow” of the words from your “heart” to the “readers’, makes such a beautiful PICTURE.
    I can tell as I read this, God is… and God will continue to USE this ministry he has given you!
    Praying for you, today and always, that He will “soften your heart” even more as the days go by !
    I love ya and am so proud of what I see here !
    Have a wonderful day! Mom ! :0

    Like

Please share your thoughts

