Monsters In The Dark


When I was a little girl, I was scared of the dark. I did not like sleeping in my own bed alone and certainly not in the dark. I was so sure that as soon as I was tucked in, the light
was out, and I was alone, that from somewhere in the darkness, something was waiting to get me.

image

Now looking back, I realize that was silly. I finally realized, though it took me a while, that there was nothing there in the dark that wasn’t there in the light.

Today, I find myself in a similar situation. While I’m not in my bed scared of the dark, I am still facing an uncertain time in my life. You see, I feel God has opened a door for me, a way to minister for Him.But, as sometime is the case, I can’t see all that lies ahead of me. I feel like God has shown a light to guide me this far, but there are still things I am waiting for God to reveal to me.

I find myself with a decisions to make. Will I “hide my head under the cover?” Or will I boldly take that step of faith and walk through God’s door of opportunity?

We all face this situation in our own lives. God stands at the door of your heart and knocks, or He opens a door of opportunity for you, and you have to decide what to do.

Satan wants to stand behind you and whisper doubt into your ear. He will tell you that you’re going to fail, that you’re not good enough, or that you just can’t do it. You see, in John 8:44 Jesus describes Satan as ” the father of all lies.” Satan knows that if he can get you to doubt yourself that he can defeat you.
image

Jesus says, in John 8:12, ” I am the light of the world, whosoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” God has great plans for your life and He wants to guide you in those plans. He may not lay it all out at once for you to see.

The first steps of faith are yours to take. The door is open; the way is lit. Will you walk by faith and let God reveal all He has for you today?

Or, will you listen to the “father of lies?” Letting doubt and fear steal your joy and all the wonderful things God has for you.

I pray today, as I step out in faith, that you will do the same thing in your own life. Wherever you are, and wherever you are going, God is already there, holding the light, waiting for you to move.

One thought on “Monsters In The Dark

  1. yolanda says:

    I just LOVE this part of the “posts” !

    I find myself with a decisions to make. Will I “hide my head under the cover?” Or will I boldly take that step of faith and walk through God’s door of opportunity?

    It makes me think about “everyday” and the millions of times that I hear God “speak to my heart” about ALL the “little/Big ” matters of Life that He wants to “stretch” me in !

    pray that I will “GROW” to the “size” God wants me to ! Love ya, Mom !

    Like

Please share your thoughts

