Finding Joy in the Journey


This weekend I will celebrate my twelve year anniversary with the love of my life. What a Journey it has been.
image

I met my husband about fifteen years ago. At that time we were just two kids trying to survive our teenage years.

We were in the same graduating class. Actually, we were the graduating class. We went to a very small private school together.

After high school we got married and started our family.

Looking back over the years I see just how much we have grown. We started our life together as two kids; although you could not tell us that at the time. We were sure we had it all figured out. It did not take us long to discover that we were wrong.

I would love to tell you that we have had a storybook marriage, but anyone who knows anything about life would know I was lying.

We have had our struggles. We have seen babies born, and wept over the passing of loved ones. We have rocked babies, wiped noses, and kissed boo-boos. We have laughed together and cried together.

One thing we have learned over the years is that with God all things are possible. We learned that if we wanted a healthy marriage, we had to keep God in the center of it.

Ecclesiastes 4:12 says:
Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.
image

One of my favorite passages in the Bible is I Corinthians 13. We often call it the love chapter.

1 Corinthians 13:4-8a, 13 says:

4) Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.
5) It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.
6) Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.
7) It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  8a) Love never fails.
13) And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

Here we have a road map that teaches us how to love each other. It is not always easy. I have even found that it does not always come naturally. If God loved us enough to die for us I think we can love each other in this way.

Love is a Journey. It has its ups and downs. Love is about give and take. It takes time to learn, but yields a lifetime of benefits.

If you are married, I encourage you to find joy in the journey. If you are still looking for the one that God has planned for you, I too encourage you to find joy in the journey.

Love takes times to develop. It is not perfected in one day. If we will keep God in the center of every relationship then it will flourish into the very thing He intended for it to be.

I have been blessed with a wonderful man in my life. He loves me, flaws and all. I thank God every day that He has blessed our marriage. Every day He is perfecting a work in both of us. And we are finding joy in the journey together.

Please share your thoughts

