God-sized dreams: Facing Your Fears


image

What is fear? Fear is an unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain, or a threat.

So many times we let fear run our lives. We do not do things because we are afraid. We may be afraid of the unknown, we may be afraid of failure, and we may be afraid of rejection.

If we are not careful, we will let fear steal all our joy out of life. We will choose to do nothing instead of live our dreams because doing nothing is easier than facing our fears.

Trust me when I say, “I understand.”

Fear is a thing I am learning to hand over to God every day. I often struggle with a fear of failure, but the biggest thing I face is the fear of the unknown.

We must remember that fear is an emotion. Emotions can change.

We can, with Gods help, control our emotions. We can even control one as big as fear.

I want us to look at one more word: faith. What is faith?

Hebrews 11:1 says: “Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. We can run fear off with faith.”

Fear is an emotion that tries to come in and take over. Faith is that thing that we can cling to when fear seems like it will surely overtake us.
image

Today as part of the God-sized dream series, we are all writing a letter to fear. Here is how my letter would go if I were to write a letter to fear itself:

Dear Chihuahua of Fear,

I have some things I would like to say to you. You are a sly little creature. You may be able to sneak in without anyone noticing and start to cause trouble. I have learned a thing or two about you over the years. Your bark is worse than your bite. You have no more control over me than I allow you to have. That means that really you are nothing. Your power depends on me. If I allow you to hang around and gnaw on the skirt of my emotions then you may be able to do some damage. But, little buddy, do I have something for you. I have Faith! Now who’s scared? My faith is bigger than anything with which you could possibly hit me. My faith will carry me over all the doubt that you have left here for me. Fear, you have done all the damage you can do. You have run my house long enough. It is time to put you where you belong, and that is down the road kicking rocks. So long, little guy. I know you thought you had it made here, but there is a new king of this castle, and his name is the Great Dane of faith.

Good luck,
A woman of Faith

Did that seem silly? I am sure it did. But I want to challenge you today. Write your fears a letter. Yes, sit down and actually write a letter to fear.

Remember, fear is just an emotion. It may seem big and bad when it is running things, but when you bring faith in it will tuck its tail and run.

Be encouraged today. If you have been keeping fear as a pet in your house, kick him out. Replace that fear with faith. I promise you that you will be a much more content person. You will also open your heart to faith! We can accomplish much more with faith than fear.

Walk in faith, live your dream and be encouraged.

5 thoughts on “God-sized dreams: Facing Your Fears

  1. yolanda says:

    Wow! What a “Treasure Box” of words ! I sure needed to OPEN this, tonight !
    Thank you so much for being “faithful” to let God use your mind and heart and ….. !:)
    I love ya, Mom ! Have a wonderful day tomorrow ! Praying for you, k? πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Oh my I have let my Chihuahua of fear “hang around and gnaw on my skirt of emotions” for far to long but now my Faith is taking over. Thanks for sharing your letter with us.

    Like

    • You are so welcome. Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog and leave a comment.

      Fear can be such a powerful thing if we let it. We have got to remember that fear only has the power we allow it to have. Faith in God will blow fear out of the water. I am glad to see you taking the first steps to putting aside your fear. God bless you.

      Like

  3. celebrateyourlife365 says:

    Hey there, I totally resonated with this: “…has no more control over me than I allow it to have”. I posted something similar at my blog too! If we feed it, it will grow. I’m praying that both of us would remember Who is control. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I will join you in that prayer. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and comment. I look forward to sharing more together. God Bless you and your ministry.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

