Motivational Monday:Making memories


memories

My parents have a little plaque that said:

 “You know it is going to be a bad day

when your four-year old tells you that it is almost impossible

to flush a grapefruit down the toilet.”

I can remember when I was a little girl, I would look at this plaque and think how funny it was that a kid would try such a thing. Little did I know that one day I would understand all too well exactly what that plaque was talking about.

My husband and I have been blessed with three beautiful, lively children. We have two boys who are 11 and 9. Our little girl is 5 now and about to graduate preschool.

I can not believe how fast these years have flown. I am told the years to come will pass even faster than the ones before.

We already have so many precious memories with our babies, I can not even imagine what is to come in the future.

This past weekend we decided at the last minute to take the kids on a fishing trip. Because of the last-minute decision, I found myself scrambling around trying to pack for five people. I did so in about 15 minutes flat! I think that is a record for us. I managed to only leave a few things behind. Thank the Lord they were things that could easily be borrowed or picked up at the nearest store.English: Boat and equipment to fish, O Carril,...

Our family loves the water and we love to fish. We purchased a boat when our youngest was just a baby, but we did so with the years ahead in mind. It had plenty of room for us to move around and enough storage that everything could have its own place. As the years have passed and the kids have grown we realize that it was  a good investment, but we still find ourselves at times cramped for space. This makes for some interesting situations. While these may not be the most fun times at first, these are sometimes the most fun to look back on.

I can not count the hooks that were lost this weekend, or the corks that had to be fished out of the water. But these are just small things when you think about the memories that were being made and the lessons that were being learned.

One memory in particular I pray our children remember is praying together in the middle of the water in our boat. I realize now that this should have been the first thing that was done, but as Christians, our Heavenly Father uses different things to teach us and to help us grow every day.

As I sat there in the boat watching my children fish to no avail, I was praying and asking God to let us catch at least one fish. I felt God speak to my heart at that moment and say, ” Pray together.” I sat there as God tugged on my heart, and as we often do I was a little hesitant to move. I thought that maybe I was just imaging it, or that maybe they would think it was silly if I brought up the idea. The longer I sat there, the stronger the tug seemed to get and finally I said to them, “Why don’t we just stop and pray and ask God to help us today.” Right there in the boat we prayed together and asked God to bless our trip. We thanked Him for the chance to be together as a family, and finally we asked God to bless us with some fish if it be His will.

When we caught our first fish our youngest son said, “See Mom, God answered our prayers.” We caught six fish in all that day.

As our children grow, I pray they will remember times like this. As they mature as Christians, and grow in the Lord I want them to remember to always go to God. Not only for their needs and wants, but to thank Him for all the many blessings that He bestows upon us each and every day.

Making memories with your children is important, but even more important than the memories are the lessons that they learn. We should take every opportunity we can to teach our children about God, and His love for us. I pray that we will teach our children to listen when God speaks. Even if we are unsure of how those around us will react, it is still our responsibility to move when God tells us to.

I pray if you are a parent or even a grandparent that you will realize the responsibility that God has placed in your hands. I pray that we will never forget that God has given us the privilege of raising His children, and that it is up to us to teach them about Him. As we grow as Christians, I pray these little ones will see this, and that it will light a fire in their hearts to want to grow closer to God every day.

Please share your thoughts

