God-sized dreams: Doing What I Can


The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters. He restores my soul; He guides me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil; for Thou art with me; Thy rod and Thy staff, they comfort me. Thou dost prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; Thou hast anointed my head with oil; My cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life, And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.  Psalm 23

                                                                                

Would you believe me if I said that sometimes I run out of things to say? If you were to ask my family and those who are the closest to me, they would probably laugh and say, “Never!”

I have told you before that I was blessed with the ability to talk a lot. It always seems I have something to say and can pretty much talk to anyone, but believe it or not, sometimes I sit down to write and I have nothing. As hard as I may try, my brain just lets out a big sigh and then, nothing.

I am sure we all have times like that. It does not matter what kind of ministry it is, we all have those times when we get tired, and need some “Me time.”

Me time

As a Mom and a Wife, I sometimes feel the need to just take a break and get away from the everyday things that seem to pull at every fiber of me. You know what? It is okay. Being a Mom and a Wife is a ministry in itself, and sometimes as ladies we get tired.

Men, this does not leave you out. I am sure that you too get tired. The job of a Father, Husband, and Provider can get heavy from time to time.

More than once since I answered this call to minister as a blogger and encourager have I found myself just needing to take a break and let my brain soak up some of what I am trying to share with you every day. Each time this happens I feel bad about it, like I am letting my readers and God down.

As I grow in the Lord I learn new things. Through prayer I have realized that even Jesus took time for Himself. There are times in the Bible that we read about Jesus getting off by Himself to pray and rest.

I am going to share a secret with you. It is okay. It is okay to take a break and to get away for a while and do something else. We all need a chance to regroup and to catch our breath.

 

There have been times when the kids were babies that my husband and I would look at each other and say, “We need to get away.” We would pack the kids up and just go out for the day. Something about breaking the routine and just getting out of the house for a while would make a world of difference.

 

No matter what “job” you do it is important to take care of yourself. You can not be what God wants and needs you to be if you are running yourself ragged all the time.  God has called you into a ministry for Him, and He wants you to be the best “You” that you can be.

 

As I read Holley Gerth’s blog this morning about God-sized dreams, this one comment really hit home with me:wpid-God-Sized-Button-1.jpg

 “Sometimes along the way to our dreams we just need a little time to play.

It helps us keep going and reminds us not to take ourselves too seriously.”

 

 

I want to encourage you today, no matter what your dreams are, no matter what ministry you find yourself doing, take the time to enjoy this journey you are on. God has put you here for a reason, He has a job for you to do, and you can only do your best when you are taking care of yourself.

I want to be the best I can be for God as I live out my God-sized dream. The next time I feel like I need a break, or a chance to breathe, I am going to take that time and not feel guilty about it. Because I want to be able to continue in this ministry and to encourage you, my readers, as we enjoy God’s word together.

6 thoughts on “God-sized dreams: Doing What I Can

  1. I have learned that if we don’t take the time to stop, rest and reflect God will do it for us. He proved that to me this past weekend. Thank you so much to encouraging me and other to take care of the only us God created.

    Like

    • You are welcome. I am learning that same lesson myself. For some reason we think we have to be superman/superwoman. We do not need to be so hard on ourselves. We need to do the work God has called us to do and then leave the results up to Him. God bless you and the work you do.

      Like

  2. I love this Valerie! I have had some of the same thoughts myself when words were swimming in my head but not on the page. You have so encouraged me today…thank you sweet sister dreamer!

    Like

    • You are so welcome. It is my prayer to encourage others with my own personal struggles. I am so glad that this was a blessing for you. I look forward to sharing more posts with you. God Bless.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

