Motivational Monday: He’s Still Working on Me.


 

For it is God which worketh in you

both to will and to do of his good pleasure.

Philippians 2:13

There is a song we sang as little children; my nieces and nephew sing it at church sometimes. It is called “He’s Still Working on Me.” It goes like this:

 

He’s still working on me
To make me what I need to be
It took him just a week to make the moon and stars
The sun and the earth and Jupiter and Mars

photo by: Flickr

photo by: Flickr

How loving and patient He must be
‘Cause He’s still workin’ on me

There really ought to be a sign upon my heart
Don’t judge him yet, there’s an unfinished part
But I’ll be better just according to His plan
Fashioned by the Master’s loving hands

In the mirror of His word
Reflections that I see
Makes me wonder why He never gave up on me
But He loves me as I am and helps me when I pray
Remember He’s the potter; I’m the clay

We normally think of this song as a children’s song, but it still blesses my heart as an adult every time I hear it. Just because we grow up physically does not mean that God is done with us spiritually.

If we want to be what God plans for us to be, then we must allow Him to continue a work in us.

Do you ever feel discouraged? Do you ever feel like you are broken or unfinished? We all feel this way sometimes. But there is hope for us.

Paul, one of the greatest men of the Bible, felt this way. We know this because in Philippians 3:12 he penned this:

 

Not that I have already obtained all this,

or have already arrived at my goal,

but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.

When the enemy comes to us with his lies we must look to God for the truth. God still wants to work in us as long as we will let Him. He is perfecting a work in us that is yet to be finished.

As long as there is still breath in your body there is still work to be done. I pray you will remember this little song as you go about your day today.

I pray today that we will all remember that we are works in progress and that, like Paul, we will continue to press towards the mark that God has set for us.

2 thoughts on “Motivational Monday: He’s Still Working on Me.

  1. yolanda says:

    i am Sooooo happy to see you “post” this , today !
    As long as I can remember, ” I am a “work”, In Progress,
    I can tell Satan to go SOMEWHERE ELSE, with his lies !
    Thanks, val, I love ya, so much ! have a good day ! 🙂 Mom ! 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts

