Motivational Monday: What are you Looking For?


 “Ask, and it will be given to you;matthew7

seek, and you will find;

knock, and it will be opened to you.

  For everyone who asks receives,

and the one who seeks finds,

and to the one who knocks it will be opened.”

Matthew 7: 7-8

Do you remember when you were a kid and you would go outside to play with your friends? Did you ever play a game called hide-and-go-seek?

We played that game all the time when we were younger. I have to admit, I was never any good at it. I always seemed to be picked as the “seeker.” I was not very good at finding whomever I was looking for. Although, I must admit I never really was good at hiding either. I was always the one who would “run for home” before I was even found.

I am so thankful that the God we serve is not like that. I am so glad that when we seek God it is not through a game of hide-and-go-seek. God does not hide from us. He does not sit back and see how long it will take us to find Him. God makes Himself available to whomever will seek Him with their whole heart. (Psalm 119:2)

Are you searching for something today? Have you found yourself in need of a touch from God? I want to encourage you today to seek Him out.  Isaiah 55:6 says:

“Seek the Lord while he may be found;
    call on him while he is near.”

seek

God will not hide from you. He will not sit back and snicker as we did when we were kids, waiting on someone to come find us. However, God is a gentleman. He will not push, He will not force His way in. God wants us to come to Him out of a humble heart. He wants us to seek Him, and then He will make His will known unto us.

We need to seek God every day. Without God’s will being done in our lives, we are left wandering around just as we did as little children playing hide-and-go-seek.

Did you ever have a parent point you in the direction of another child that was hiding? Go ahead and admit it, that was half of the fun of playing the game. That is what God’s will is like in our lives. It is a road map for His children. It tells you how to find what you are seeking. It tells us how to get where we are going.

I am so grateful for a God that loves me so much that He will guide me. I am thankful today that God shows me His will if I will seek it out. I need that in my life every day. I know that I am no good at traveling this journey alone. Too many times I have ventured out on my own, only to find myself lost in a dry and barren desert.

None of us can make it through this life by ourselves. You may think for a time that you are doing alright on your own, but you will never be able to fully enjoy all the blessings that God has for His children until you learn to seek Him and His will for you life first. Matthew 6:33 tells us:

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God,

and his righteousness;

and all these things shall be added unto you.”

Be encouraged today. Seek God and His will for your life first, then you will be able to enjoy all the many blessings that God has planned for you. If we as loving parents want what is best for our children, how much more does our Heavenly Father want to give us all the many blessings He has waiting for us.

Seek out God today, I promise that you will never be sorry you did.

2 thoughts on “Motivational Monday: What are you Looking For?

    • Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog “encouragement for every day” and for sharing it with your readers. I pray it will be a blessing. God bless you.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

