God is Enough


photo by: 123RF

photo by: 123RF

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.”

From where do you draw your strength? Do you rely on yourself for the things you need or do you go to God with them?

I must admit, there are many times when I try to rely on my own power and ability to get things done. I then find myself defeated and grumbling because either they did not turn out as I had hoped, or they failed miserably all together. It is not until then that I pick up all my broken pieces and bring them to God, lay them at His feet and leave them in His hands. Graciously God takes my tattered, torn, tangled mess and turns it into something beautiful, much more than I could have ever dreamed it could become.

Flickr.com

Flickr.com

Too many times we go off on our own, sit down in a corner somewhere, and try our best to put together the puzzle of our life on our own. It does not take long to realize that not only can we not complete it, we can not even assemble the frame-work for it. Without God we are just a hopeless, jumbled mess of pieces.

God knows what your life should look like. He has had it planned out for much longer than we even realize. Psalm 139: 13-16 tells us this:

13 “For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.”

I am learning more and more every day just how much I need to surrender my life to the One who created me. I am learning to go to Him, not only with the things I can not figure out on my own, but with every single piece of my life.

I pray today that you have discovered this as well. I pray that you have surrendered your life to God and are allowing Him to piece your life together as He sees fit.

God is our creator, our Heavenly Father. He wants to give us all the things He has planned for us. However, He is not going to force you to give your all to Him, He wants that to be your choice. He wants you to lay all the pieces of your life at His feet and leave them there. You can not imagine what God can do when you take your hands off and let the master do His work.

I encourage you today to examine your life. Ask yourself this question: “From whom do I draw my strength?” If the answer is anything other than God, your Heavenly Father, I urge you to take time today to turn around, go back and find where you went wrong, and leave your life in the hands of the one who formed your very being. You will never regret that decision.

  • Psalms 23 (authoranitarsneedcarter.wordpress.com)
6 thoughts on “God is Enough

  1. I love the “picture” of the PUZZLE PIECES ! And…. my heart is comforted to know that THE ONE that “created me”, is the ONLY ONE that knows how the pieces fit! What a blessing to TRUST it ALL to Him ! Love ya ! 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts

