Motivational Monday: Being a Friend


Friendship

“Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow.

But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up!

Again, if two lie together, they keep warm, but how can one keep warm alone?

And though a man might prevail against one who is alone,

two will withstand him—a threefold cord is not quickly broken”

Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

Hello friend, how are you?

Is there something I can help you pray about today?

Do you need to talk?

Do you have a burden I can help you bear?

I am here if you need me.

I am praying for you.

All of these are things that I would say to a friend, yet as I read them back I have to stop and ask myself if I say them often enough. So many times I get lost in my own little world and I forget to be a friend.

I was working alongside a friend this weekend, and she made the comment that what we were doing was good for her. Lost in my own thoughts I responded, “Me too, I needed to get out and work some,” not ever catching the true meaning of her statement. She was struggling, bogged down by some troubles in her life. What she meant was that she needed that time to refresh her spirit and her mind. Lost in my own little world, I was thinking about needing the physical labor to work my body, and I missed that opportunity to minister to a friend in need. At that moment I realized that I had not been a very good friend to someone so dear to my heart. I had gotten so lost in my own life that I had failed to take even a moment and see how she was doing.

So many times we get so lost in our own little world, in our own mind, and in our own problems that we forget to look around us and see who may be needing a friend. Sometimes all they need is a smile and a pat on the back. Sometimes they may need a hug and to hear you say, “I am praying for you.” Sometimes they just need someone who cares, someone who will listen to them for a moment.

Yesterday I had a chance to sit and visit with my mom. As we sat and watched the kids play, she looked at me and said, “How are you?”

It seems like such a small question, but what she really meant was :

I care about you.

I am here if you need me.

I am praying for you.

I care about what you are going through.

You see, when we take the time to be a friend we open up many doors. We can open up the door of hope, encouragement, ministry, and even healing.

I encourage you to take the time to be a friend. Look up from  your own troubles and see the needs of those around you. Let the ones you love know that you do care about what they are going through. Sometimes all they need is for you to ask, “How are you, friend?”

I want to be a friend to you today. I want you to know that I care about what you are going though.

I pray today that those who read this will be encouraged. Whatever trouble you are facing today, God is there. If there is uncertainty in your life, God already has the answer. If you are facing what seems like an impossible situation, God wants to turn it into a “Him-possible” situation.

Can I pray for you today? If there is a need in your life today I would love to pray about it with you. You can leave a comment here, or if it is something you can not voice aloud please just post it as unspoken. God knows what the need is even if I do not.

In closing, let me ask you today, “How are you, friend?”

3 thoughts on “Motivational Monday: Being a Friend

  1. yolanda says:

    HI! sweet girl ! I just got “chill bumps” reading your Blog, today ! I am so glad you can SEE and HEAR and most importantly, FEEL how much I LOVE YOU ! :

    Every time I talk to you, I do CARE about ALL of your life !

    YOU are my best friend, too and I thank God for you, everyday I live !

    |I am so proud of ALL you do and share from YOUR God Given Life !
    Have a good day, Mom ! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you friend. I am glad you stopped by as well! I thank God that it brought you encouragement! I look forward to sharing more together in the future. God bless you and your ministry

      Like

Please share your thoughts

