Are You Ready?


clouds

” For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel,

and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first:

Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds,

to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.”

1 Thessalonians 4:16-17

Jesus is coming!

Are you ready?

There is a story that my dad use to tell, about a dream he had one night. He said he dreamed that he was standing outside one day, and as he looked up into the sky he saw something forming in the clouds. He said that the clouds began to part, and form what looked like a long hallway. At the end of that hallway he could see a figure moving. He said that as he watched the figure move closer, he realized that it was Jesus! I can still see the look on my dad’s face as he told about how at that very moment he could feel his feet lifting off of the ground, and he realized that the rapture was taking place. He said that he woke himself up from the dream shouting with joy.

I was just a little girl when this dream took place, but the memory of my dad telling this story is still just as fresh in my mind as if it had just happened yesterday. To see the excitement on his face as he would tell this dream to those around him has always stuck in my mind. As a young girl, I could only imagine what he must have been feeling in that dream, but as I have gotten older and learned more about the Bible and what it says about Jesus’ return, the memory of this dream excites me even more.

What joy and excitement there will be on that day when Jesus comes back to take His children home. It is hard to even imagine what it will be like, but the Bible does give us a glimpse of what will take place.

The question I have for you is this:

Are you ready?

While there is much excitement and anticipation for that day when Jesus returns, there is also a seriousness that comes with it as well. If you have been covered by the shed blood of Jesus Christ, and your sins have been forgiven then you are ready.

If you have never received Jesus Christ into your heart, or maybe you have, but you have wandered away from Him and begun to try things your own way, I ask you today, “Please get prepared. Jesus is coming!”  You may be thinking to yourself, “I have been hearing about Jesus coming back since I was a child.” Yes, that is true, we have been hearing about this for years, but that does not change the fact that it is true. I believe that it is proof that we are even closer now than we have ever been.

God’s Word tell us that we do not know when Jesus will come back for His children:

“For you yourselves are fully aware that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night.”

1 Thessalonians 5:2

While I am excited, and looking forward to the day when Jesus comes back to take His children home, my heart is burdened for those who are not ready. My heart breaks at the thought of loved ones, and friends being left behind.

I want to encourage you today to please take a moment and examine your heart. If in doing this you realize that you are not ready to go, if you discover that there is still the need for forgiveness in your heart, I pray that you will stop right where you are and seek that forgiveness. It is there for the taking. All you have to do is believe, ask, and receive it.

Jesus loves you. In fact, He loves you so much that He died on a cross for your sins. God’s Word tell us:

” For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son,

that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

John 3:16

All you have to do is call on the name of the Lord, and seek forgiveness for your sins: The Bible says:

“For everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

Romans 10:13

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

1 John 1:9

God has given salvation to us as a gift:

For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 6:23

“For by grace you have been saved through faith.

And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God,”

Ephesians 2:8

Friends, when I think about Jesus returning and taking His children home, my heart wants to shout! I pray that you are ready as well. I may never get the chance to meet you here on earth, but I want to see you in Heaven some day.

God Bless you!

*If you have read this, and in doing so you have made the decision to ask Jesus into your heart, I would love to hear from you and pray for you as you begin your journey of walking with the Lord.
If you have read this and realized that there are things unfinished in your life, but have not made the decision to follow God, I would love to hear from you and pray for you as well.
You can email me at the address found here:  http://en.gravatar.com/encouragementforeveryday
God bless you today, I look forward to hearing from you!
Please share your thoughts

