Finding Peace


peace

“I have said these things to you,

that in me you may have peace.

In the world you will have tribulation.

But take heart; I have overcome the world.”

John 16:33

I often wake up with a song in my heart, a song that I feel God has placed there to bring me comfort or to remind me that He is in control. This morning, however, I was awakened from my sleep by a song playing in my head. The song is one we sang in church Sunday morning. It is called “He Whispers Sweet Peace to Me.” Here are the lyrics:

 Sometime when misgivings darken the day…..
      And faith’s light I cannot see….
      I ask my dear Lord…to brighten the way……..
      He whispers sweet peace to me…..

       The Chorus:

      He whispers sweet peace to me…..[to me]
      He whispers sweet peace to me…..[to me]
      When I am cast down….in spirit and soul….
      He whispers….sweet peace to me…..

      Verse Two:

      I could not go on without him…I know…..
      The world would o’er whelm my soul…..
      For I could not see…the right way to go….
      When temptations o’er me roll….

      Verse Three:

      I trust Him through faith…by faith hold His hand….
      And sometimes my faith is weak…..
      And then when I ask Him to take command…..
      It seems that I hear him speak…..

      Verse Four:

      He speaks in a still…small voice we are told….
      A voice that dispels all fear….
      And when I’m in doubt….or troubled in soul….
      That still small voice….I can hear…..

       The Chorus:

      He whispers sweet peace to me…..[to me]
      He whispers sweet peace to me…..[to me]
      When I am cast down….in spirit and soul….
      He whispers….sweet peace to me…..

~Author unknown~

Philippians 4:7 tells us:

“And the peace of God,

which passeth all understanding,

shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

Sometimes the storms of life can seem as if they will overtake our hearts. When we feel overwhelmed by evils of this world, we need to fall at the feet of Jesus and seek the peace that only He can bring.

I have been facing some storms in my life lately. As I awoke this morning with this song in my heart, I can not describe the peace that I felt wash over me. I felt as if God was whispering in His still, small voice, “Trust Me, Follow Me, Lean on Me.”

I can not tell you what the future holds, and I can not promise that trials will not come. I am reassured this morning that no matter what happens in this life, God is in control. My God is bigger than any trial I will face. He is mightier than any obstacle that the devil can throw in my path.

I pray, today, if you are facing uncertainty in your life that you will seek God. Seek the peace that can come only from Him. If you will give it all over to God, He will cover you with His peace.

There will still be trials that you will have to face. The scripture I used this morning tells us that there will be trials, but it also reassures us that there is a peace that passes ALL understanding.

I pray that this brings you comfort today. I pray that as we grow in Christ together that we will learn to lean on Him. I pray that we will let God cover us with His peace, comfort, and protection.

God bless you today friend! Stay encouraged, stay comforted, and find rest in the peace that can only come from God.

3 thoughts on “Finding Peace

  1. Pingback: Peace | Hopeful

Please share your thoughts

