Setting Your Priorities in Order


photo credit: mosaicnashville

photo credit: mosaicnashville

 “For what is a man profited,

 if he shall gain the whole world,

  and lose his own soul?

  or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?”

 Matthew 16:26

“What is this life worth to you?”

I am sure that if I were to ask this question to a group of people that I would get as many different answers as there were people in that group.

Different people value life in different ways. If asked to prioritize your life and the things in it, I am sure that each of us would come up with a different list.

How does God teach us we should prioritize our lives? Where does He say we should place our value?

In this particular section of Scripture Jesus was talking to his disciples about this very thing. In Matthew 16: 24 Jesus told his disciples this:

“Then said Jesus unto his disciples,

If any man will come after me,

let him deny himself,

and take up his cross, and follow me.”

1 John 2:15 tells us:

” Love not the world, neither the things that are in the world.

If any man love the world, the love of the Father is not in him.”

Too many times we place our priorities in the wrong order. We place value in the wrong things.

As a young married couple, my husband and I got our priorities out of order. We did not listen to God’s word, and we did not allow God to lead in many of our decisions.  This lack of commitment to the ways of God often left us arguing about money and struggling to make ends meet.

As we have matured and grown in Christ, we have resolved ourselves to a new set of priorities. We are learning more and more every day to live within our means, and not beyond them. We are learning to do as the Bible tells us in Matthew 6:19-21:

” Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth,

whehttps://encouragementforeveryday.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=782&action=editre moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal:

 But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven,

where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal:

 For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

Learning to live this way has taken time. It has taken commitment and discipline on our part to do as we have said we would do.

One thing I am learning personally is this:

“You can never out-give God.”

I have heard this said all my life, but I never really understood it until I tried it for myself. It was a big step of faith for me to give when I did not think that we had it to share, but God has ALWAYS been faithful to supply our needs and bless as we step out in faith and do as He has commanded us to.

I would like to be able to tell you that as soon as we got our priorities is order everything was instantly fixed,but that has not been the case. We are still working on getting our feet under us after making some unwise decisions, nevertheless God has been faithful to supply our needs. Slowly, by God’s grace, we are beginning to re-prioritize our lives. I can tell you that it feels great to know that we are doing the things that God has told us to do. God is blessing us every day.

As I write this morning, I am reminded of the story that Jesus told in Matthew 25: 14-30

I do not want to be like the man who was lazy and hid his talent. I want to give when God tells me to give, I want to share what God has blessed me with, and I want to minister, for the glory of God, to the best of my ability.

I want to encourage you today to take a minute and look at your life.

What does your priority list look like? Have you laid up for yourself treasures in Heaven, or are your treasures here on this earth? I would urge you to step out in faith, adjust your list of priorities if necessary, and then trust God to meet your needs.

In the end, when we are in Heaven together, the things of this world are not going to matter anyway.

I want to be able to look into my Father’s eyes and hear Him say, “Well done thou good and faithful servant.” ( Matthew 25)

2 thoughts on “Setting Your Priorities in Order

  1. It’s so important to take time to ponder our priorities before God! My husband and I do this every year over an anniversary dinner. We pray together and thank God for another year! Thank you for the reminder! Blessings, Crystal

    Like

Please share your thoughts

