I am Listening


silence

“My son, if you receive my words and treasure up my commandments with you,

making your ear attentive to wisdom and inclining your heart to understanding;

yes, if you call out for insight and raise your voice for understanding,

if you seek it like silver and search for it as for hidden treasures,

then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.”

Proverbs 2:1-5

I have made the decision to listen rather than speak today. As I have been studying through scripture and praying this morning for the words to share with you, I have come up empty.

I have found that as I am searching through God’s word, I am absorbing much-needed encouragement and wisdom from my Heavenly Father today.

Do you ever have times like this? Do you ever have those moments when you are searching for the right thing to say and all you hear is silence?

The first time this happened, it really bothered me. I felt as if God was hiding from me. I was concerned that I had caused distance between myself and my Lord. As I prayed, I took that concern to God and felt a peace that I was where I should be with God, but still, even after praying, there was silence.

I called a very wise woman to see what advice she had for me concerning this matter, and I will never forget the advice she gave to me: “Use the silence. Use it to minister.” She reminded me that sometimes God wants to use the silence to speak to us just as much as He wants to use His word.

In the noisy world in which we live, we get so caught up in hearing things that we forget what the silence is for. We hear the television, we hear the radio, we can even hear books now.

I am reminded of a verse in the Bible where God says:

 Be still, and know that I am God:

Proverbs 46:10a

Sometimes we get so caught up in the noise of this world that we forget to be still. We forget to listen in the silence and really hear what God is saying to us.

So today I choose to listen. I choose to let the silence surround me, and I choose to tune in to what God is trying to say to me.

I pray today that you will do the same. If you are finding it unusually quiet in your mind and heart today, do not be afraid. If you know that your relationship with God is in order ,yet you still discover that the silence is there, listen.

God may be wanting to minister to you through that silence. He may be wanting to speak to your heart in a way that only the silence can reach.


Please share your thoughts

