Press On


aim

” Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended:

but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind,

and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 3:13-14

In response to yesterday’s blog, my friend Rene at Sweet Rains  shared Psalm 69:5-6 which reads:

  You, God, know my folly;
    my guilt is not hidden from you.

  Lord, the Lord Almighty,
    may those who hope in you
    not be disgraced because of me;
God of Israel,
    may those who seek you
    not be put to shame because of me.

Yesterday I wrote about being a leader and making sure we were setting a good example. Reading the Scripture that Rene  wrote brought to mind another Scripture that I came across this morning in my Bible study. Today I would like to continue our discussion from yesterday and add some food for thought on these verses that have been shared.

As Christians we are called to be leaders. We are called to lead others to Christ, to lead by our example, and to lead by our words.  Matthew 5:48 tells us:

“Be ye therefore perfect,

even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.”

When we stop to think about this task, it can seem a little overwhelming and unattainable. As I pondered these thoughts this morning, I thought about Paul and the Scripture that I shared with you here today.

Paul, one of the greatest apostles to ever live , struggled with the very thing which we are talking about today. In Romans 7:15 Paul says:

 “I do not understand what I do.

For what I want to do I do not do,

but what I hate I do.

Many times as Christians we struggle with the carnal man: that old, sinful nature that lives in us even after we are saved.

I know all too well how it feels to struggle with wanting to do right and the very next move I make I am falling flat on my face!

God understands our struggles as humans, and He offers grace and mercy for times such as these. 1 John 2:1 tells us:

“My dear children,

I write this to you so that you will not sin.

But if anybody does sin,

we have an advocate with the Father—

Jesus Christ, the Righteous One.”

We, as Christians, have a goal to pursue. We have a target for which to aim. Will we always obtain that goal? I would venture to say, “no,” but we are still commanded to press toward that mark.
I pray you will be encouraged today as we learn to rely on God for strength and the grace to complete the task to which we are called.
Let us remember that we can go to God for forgiveness when we, as humans, fail to reach the mark that is set before us. Let us always remember to go to God for the strength that only He can give.
God bless you today, friend, and remember: Press On!
2 thoughts on “Press On

  1. Thank you, Valarie! So true how we struggle with our old sin nature at times and find ourselves doing what our spirit doesn’t want to do anymore. You’re inclusion of 1 John 2:1 is so comforting. Psalm 103 also came to mind, which speaks of God’s patience, mercy, tenderness, grace, forgiveness, and that He remembers who and what we are. Bless you, my friend! 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts

