Seeking Direction


2013-06-17_10-32-21_197

“Ponder the path of thy feet, and let all thy ways be established.”

Proverbs 4:26

This week I have been “Pondering my path.” I have been dreaming; exploring my options for the future. What started out as a seemingly exciting adventure has quickly turned into a scary, uncertain road.

Have you ever felt this way? Have you ever set out for what looked like a fun, exciting time, but quickly you realized that you were lost and needed some guidance?

My children and I went for a walk last week and I captured the above photo. Both my sons and I were captivated by the scene of open space and seemingly endless opportunity. As we surveyed the land, my children began to talk about how much fun it would be to set out walking and see where it took us. I can only imagine how far they would get before they turned around in search of the safety of home.

As I look at this picture, I think about my life and how many times I have thought the same thing.

I am a self-admitted dreamer. I have been since I was a child. I look out at life and I want to run off into the sunset and see where it takes me.

When I was a little girl, I dreamed of having a nice, big house with a big front yard, a loving husband and children running around  calling me “Mommy.”

As a teenager in high-school I dreamed of going to college and getting my PhD in Psychology and becoming  “Dr. So-and-so.”

After I got married and my two oldest children were in school, I found myself lost, seeking direction. Please do not misunderstand me, I love being a wife and a mom, but with the decision to have children and not go to college came the reality that some of my dreams were going to look a little different from those I had as a child.

After some much-needed soul-searching and praying, I realized that God was working my dreams out in his own time. I had a nice home, I had a loving husband, and I had not one, not two, but three little children calling me “Mommy.”

When my youngest was about to start school I felt God calling me to volunteer at the Christian school my children attend. I can not begin to tell you the blessings that God has provided through that opportunity. I get to be with my own children each day while also ministering to many other children as well.

A few months ago, I felt God calling me to start this blog. I have always been told that I had the heart of a counselor, and to have the opportunity to help and encourage other people was something that I longed to do. I may not have a PhD behind my name, but I know I am where God has called me to be. I pray every day that I can be a blessing to those I come in contact with here.

My life right now feels like this vast open scene. My heart wants to take off running into the scenery, but I know I must trust God’s plan. This week I have realized that I need to wait for Him to lead. Yes,I will always be a dreamer. I still have dreams that I would like to pursue in the future, but I will not move until God tells me that it is time.

Just as my children would not make it very far venturing out into the great unknown by themselves, I too realize that without God leading, any dream I pursue, and any adventure I take will only leave me longing for home, for the comfort that can only come from being in the center of God’s will.

I believe that God is not finished with me yet. I believe that He still has great plans for my life. I want to listen for His voice, wait for His guidance, and to trust His results. I know that if I will do this, I will be successful in whatever it is that God has planned for my life.

Maybe you have found yourself in a similar place in life. Please, let me encourage you today:

If you have found yourself longing to run on ahead, I want to encourage you to wait on God. Do not stay behind when He tells you to move, but do not run ahead of the place He has called you to be.

Proverbs 3:5-6 tells us:

  “Trust in the LORD with all thine heart;

and lean not unto thine own understanding.  

In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”

Trust God today, friend. He has great plans for your life.

God bless you.

4 thoughts on “Seeking Direction

  1. Thank you so much this is exactly where I am at the moment! I’m facing a massive decision on where I should go back to Bible college in Thailand for a 3rd year or whether I should just head straight out to Pakistan for full time missions! ‘Happily terrified’ is a good feeling and a sign that you’re following God’s plan for your life!

    I would say though that I can’t see anywhere in the Bible where people waited, except in the upper room, but we already have the Holy Spirit! I know things may need to be worked toward but God’s time is always now!

    Your blog is a blessing!

    Simon, United Kingdom

    Like

    • I am so glad it was a blessing to your heart. God bless you as you continue in your work for the Lord. Your comment has encouraged my heart today 🙂 Thank you for responding.

      The waiting i was referring to was not waiting out of fear, but waiting out of uncertainty as to exactly where God is leading me. I believe that God has a perfect will for each life and I want to be certain that I am there 🙂

      Like

Please share your thoughts

