Growing Into Godly Women


2013-06-17_11-26-31_28 (2)
“She opens her mouth with wisdom,
and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.
She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.
Her children rise up and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:
“Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.”
Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain,
but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”

Proverbs 31:26-30

I enjoy reading all of Proverbs, but my favorite chapter to read is Chapter 31. We often hear people make the reference: A Proverbs 31 woman.

I can remember the time I read this chapter and actually understood what it was talking about. I can remember thinking to myself, “Who could live up to that?” The lady being described in this chapter was almost too good to be true.

It is easy to look at these verses and feel intimidated, but I do not believe that is what God would have for us. I believe that everything in God’s word is meant to teach, inspire, and challenge.

As I have grown in Christ and matured as a mother and a wife, I look at these verses much differently than I did before.

As a wife, I understand the verse that tell us:

“The heart of her husband doth safely trust in her,

so that he shall have no need of spoil.

She will do him good and not evil all the days of her life.

As a Godly wife, I take this as an example by which to model my life. I want to know that my husband trusts me and that he  feels safe and loved.

As a mother, I understand verse 26 that reads:

“She openeth her mouth with wisdom;

and in her tongue is the law of kindness.”

I have learned to embrace this verse and to take it as a challenge for myself. As a mother of three small children, it is not always easy to have a gentle tongue. There are times when kindness should be spoken, but instead hurtful, angry words come .I want to let this verse challenge me to control my tongue and speak with kindness. As a mother, I want to have the wisdom to encourage my children when they need it, to be able to discipline them in a Godly way, and to be able to guide them as they grow.

My encouragement for you today is this:

When you read these verses, no matter young or old, mother or grandmother, aunt or sister, please do not be intimidated or discouraged. Be encouraged. Be challenged. Take these verses as a tool by which to learn and grow.

I believe that if it is written in God’s word, it is attainable.

Let us, as daughters of the King, develop the traits of a Proverbs 31 woman together.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 thoughts on “Growing Into Godly Women

  1. Yolanda Blue Hill says:

    YOU, ….are definitely doing just that! My heart is “warmed everyday” when I watch you live out everyday life. God is surely pleased with your “love and compassion” for Him and “others” you have in and out of your life. Love ya, Mom! 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts

