*Special* Motivational Monday: It is Okay


it is ok

Jamie Anderson Photo{ART}graphy

” Then he said to them,

‘My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death.

Stay here and keep watch with me.” 

Luke 22:38

Are you okay?

It is a question we often ask people when in crisis. It is one of those “go to” questions we use to break the silence when we do not know what to say.

Is it ever okay not to be okay?

I believe it is. I believe there are times in life when we are not okay, and we have the right to say so.

In the garden of Gethsemane, Jesus admitted that He was not okay. He told His disciples that he was “overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death.” Wow, what agony our Savior must have been in, knowing what lay ahead for Him! He even prayed and asked His Father to take the cup from Him if it be the Father’s will.

There are times in life when we are not okay, and that is okay.

My heart is broken this morning for a family in our neighborhood whose little girl drowned yesterday.

As I lay in my bed last night, I could not help but wonder what they must be feeling.

I can not imagine the pain that they must be going through.

When I read this verse this morning, I thought about the parents of this precious child. I would imagine that they both feel the way that Jesus did: Overwhelmed.

So many times in life we do not understand why things happen. We do not understand what good could possibly come from certain situations. In times like these we have to do as Jesus did and say, ” Not my will, but Thy will be done.”

As hard as it is for us to imagine, God has not turned His back on His children when tragedy strikes. God has a plan. We may not be able to see it right away; we may never fully understand it, but we must trust that God is in control of every situation.

I am asking my readers this morning to help me hold this precious family up in prayer, not only today, but in the days, weeks, and months to come.

As a parent myself, my heart breaks for these two young parents. If I could offer any words of encouragement it would be this:

I will not ask you if you are okay. I will not tell you that it will be okay. For these are just empty words to you right now. What I will tell you is this: It is okay not to be okay. Life has knocked you down, but you are not out. God loves you and He is the ultimate healer. I pray that you will allow Him to wrap His comforting arms around you and hold you close as you go through this seemingly impossible time in your life. We are all praying for you and we will continue to do so in the days and weeks to come.

To my readers:

I want to encourage you today. If you are going through a struggle, God is there. He is working. Even if you do not understand, even if you feel broken, God’s word tells us in Deuteronomy 31:6:

“Be strong and of a good courage,

fear not, nor be afraid of them:

for the LORD your God, he it is that does go with you;

    he will not fail you, nor forsake you.”

I pray that this will encourage your heart today, but I also pray that it will be a reminder for you to pray for this precious family this morning.

 Remember: It is okay not to be okay, but take heart, God has promised never to leave us nor forsake us.

******************************************************************************

If you would like to offer any words of sympathy or encouragement to this family, you can leave them here in the comments section and I will be happy to pass them along.

God bless you.

10 thoughts on “*Special* Motivational Monday: It is Okay

  1. Oh, I am so thankful that “The Fellowship of Christian Bloggers” sent me over here. Your words to this family are so beautiful and the tie to Scripture is perfect. I needed to read this for me as well as I am not okay some days. I will be writing those words you would like to say to them into my journal to reread and read again.
    And I will hold this family in prayer as well. I cannot imagine what they are going through yet He does and will hold them up to Himself, if they will allow Him that. I pray that for them as well.
    Thanks again.
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

    Like

  2. Michael Tully says:

    How many times have I struggled to find the right words to say to someone at a time like this. May the grace and peace of the Lord Jesus Christ be poured out in double measure on this grieving family. And blessings to you, too, Valarie, for your timely words of encouragement.

    Like

    • I agree Michael. Sometimes there are just not words to be found. That is when we have to pray and ask God to minister through us. I am so glad this was a blessing to your heart. God bless you.
      ~Valarie~

      Like

  3. My heart is breaking for the family. I cannot begin to imagine losing a child. I pray the Holy Spirit would comfort them and give them peace during this difficult time.

    Like

Please share your thoughts

