My Husband: My Hero


flowers

  ” Love never fails.”

1 Corinthians 13:8

Over the past months I have written about many different things. I always make it a point to share encouragement and Scripture. I do my best to offer some words of wisdom and I always try to encourage my readers to think for themselves by throwing out questions to consider and comments to ponder.

Today I want to “give flowers to the living.” My dad taught me about this years ago. He said, “We give flowers at a funeral as a sign of respect and sympathy for a family’s loss. Why not give the flowers while the person is still here to enjoy them?”

So, today I would like to give flowers to one of the most special men in my life, my husband: my hero.

If you have read the “About me” section of my blog you already know that I met my husband at a very young age. We met at the age of fifteen when I enrolled in the school that he was presently attending. We dated our senior year in high school and were engaged just after graduation. We have now been married for thirteen years.

I guess you could say that we have grown up together and God willing we will grow old together.

I have watched my husband grow both physically and spiritually over the years that we have been married, but recently I have seen some changes taking place in him that make my heart jump for joy.

Every little girl, at some point in life, dreams of marrying her prince charming, her knight in shining armor. I have to tell you this morning that I have found mine. Yes, he has his flaws as do we all, but my husband is my hero.

I have seen him overcome adversities. I have seen him stand his ground. I have seen my husband set his mind to something, and I have watched as he diligently worked to complete that task.

I have been blessed with a husband that is not afraid to stand up for his family and what he believes is right.

I have enjoyed the years that we have had together and I pray that we will have many,many more in the future.

We have grown from children to adults together, we are now raising children of our own together, and I look forward to watching our children raise their own children as my husband and I grow old together.

To my dear husband: Here are my flowers for you. You are one of a kind, my knight in shining armor, my true north. I thank God for you every day and I pray that He will continue to bless our family as we follow His word and grow in Him. Thank you for always being there for me and our children. Thank you for taking a stand and standing firm in your beliefs. You inspire me to be a better person.

Dear readers: I pray if you have been blessed with someone special in your life that you will find time to let them know. We are not promised one more minute on this earth and we need to let those we love know just how much we appreciate them while they are still here.

I always love hearing from my readers. If you have been blessed with someone special, I would love to hear your story.

To those of you who are still waiting to find that special someone, be patient. Allow God to lead you in the right direction.

6 thoughts on “My Husband: My Hero

    • I have been very blessed. I have discovered the power of a praying wife and a husband that is willing to listen to God’s word. I pray that each lady will find a Godly husband.

      Like

  1. I love this post!! My husband and I are celebrating our 26th anniversary in two weeks, and he is my best friend. We’ve had lots and good times, and of course some bad, but we grow closer every day. I pray that my children will be blessed with the kind of relationship we have had…not perfect, but always getting stronger. I agree with your dad. We spend too much time recognizing what we’ve lost and not enough time sharing what those special people mean while they are with us!

    Like

  2. Beautiful post! While I am still “waiting” for that “someone special” (although, I am living, not just waiting!), this was an encouragement to me to love my friends and family every single day, and to let them know how much I appreciate them. God bless!

    Like

    • I am so glad this was an encouragement to you. I am also glad to see that you are not just waiting for that special someone. It will come when the time is right. God bless you, and thank you for stopping by EFED. I look forward to sharing more with you in the future.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

