Motivational Monday: Make it Count


time well spent

” To every thing there is a season,

and a time to every purpose under the heaven” 

Ecclesiastes 3:1

Make it count.

There are a lot of areas in life where we use this term.

We use it in sports when we are talking about scoring a point. You have one shot; make it count.

We use this term when we are talking about spending money. Make every penny count. 

Today I am talking about time spent as a family. Make every minute count. It is passing more quickly than you know.

This weekend was fun for our family. We did not have any big plans. We did not have some big goal in mind to reach.

I told my husband last week, ” I want Friday to be a family day for us.” To my delight, our Friday turned into an entire weekend spent together.

Friday evening we made homemade pizza, watched television together, and watched the kids play some new games they had gotten. All in all, it was just a fun relaxing evening with our children.

Saturday played out just about the same way. We did not have anything in particular to do. We were just together as a family. We watched the kids play in the yard, we visited with family, and we even rode our ATVs around for a while.

Sunday found us in church as a family. The afternoon was spent outside, watching the kids play and visiting together.

We made this weekend count.

I believe as  a  mom, that it is very important to share these times with our children. There are so many things going on in life. I believe that as parents we need to take time with our children to just make memories.

Make your time count.

There does not have to be a lot of money spent, or a far off adventurous vacation taken. Time well spent can be taken right where you live.

Whatever your circumstances are, make it count.

If all you can do is sit together and play a game, make it count.

If you can cook a meal together, make it count.

If you can build something together, make it count.

Whatever it is that your family can do to spend time together, do it. You will make memories that you and your children will remember for years to come.

As a parent, I sometimes get caught up in the bigger and better moment. I want to give my kids the biggest and the best.

This weekend was a reminder to me that bigger is not always best. It is about quality, not quantity.

This weekend I had the privilege of watching my family play together, laugh together, and make memories together.

I thank God for my family. My husband is my best friend and I pray that God allows me to have many more years with him. My children are the light of my life. I love watching them grow and change. Most of all I love to see them smile, to know that they are happy. I love knowing that we are raising them in the nurture and admonition of the Lord (Ephesians 6:4)

I want to encourage you today. Make your time count. Remember: it is not about quantity, it is about quality. You do not have to spend a lot of money or make big extravagant plans. Do what you can do, but make it count. You will be glad you did.

I hope this has motivated you today.

Now, I would like to challenge you. Make plans soon to have a family day. It does not have to be just like ours. Make it your own.

I would love to hear about it. Consider leaving a comment telling us what your day was like, and what you did that was special to you.

This may be a regular occurrence at your house. If it is, kudos to you!

If you have suggestions you would like to share,  I would love to hear them.

How do you make your time as a family count?

4 thoughts on “Motivational Monday: Make it Count

  1. Sounds like you had a blessed weekend having fun and making memories. Like you said, it doesn’t have to cost a lot; just spending time together and enjoying each other is what really counts. I was so blessed to have spent almost a week with my mom in NC recently. I enjoyed seeing her gardens and water lily pond, playing games, watching shows, and going blueberry picking. Just spending time together. 🙂

    Like

    • I am so glad you got to spend some time with your mom. Parents are such a blessing.
      I spent yesterday with my parents and that is a blessing I never get tired of receiving.
      God bless you friend.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

