Wisdom While we Wait


wait

“Wait for the Lord;

be strong, and let your heart take courage;

wait for the Lord!”

Psalm 27:14

Are you waiting for something?

Maybe there is something that you have been praying about; you may have been praying about it for a while. Do you ever feel like giving up? Do you ever wonder if God even hears you?

Let me assure you that He does, but sometimes God is telling us to wait.

We, as  a people, have gotten so accustomed to things happening right now that we have forgotten how to wait.

Look with me at the world in which we live. Just about everything we do is instant.

If you want something quick to eat, where do you go? You drive to the local “fast food” restaurant, pull up to the window and order. In just a few minutes you have your food (if you are lucky) and you are on your way.

How about the way we communicate? When I was a kid, I did not know anything about e-mail, Facebook, or texting. If I wanted to talk to a friend, I had two options: Call or write a letter. I can remember writing  a letter to a friend and having to wait for three or four days, sometimes even a week to receive a response. Kids today would not know what to do with themselves if they had to live that way. If a child wants to talk to a friend, they either pick up the cell phone and text or they go to Facebook and immediately they are connected.

Has this way of life spoiled us as a society?

I believe it depends on how you look at it. I have to admit that I do enjoy being able to pick up my phone and instantly be connected with my husband or family in other cities and states. I believe where the problem comes into play is when we expect everything in life to be instant.

There are, and will, be times all through life when we will be called to wait.

So, what do we do while we wait?

As I thought about this question, this phrase came to my mind: Wisdom while we wait.

What does that mean? Well, I believe that we have a job to do while we wait on God. If we are praying for something particular, if we are waiting on a promotion at work, or if we are waiting on healing to take place in ourselves or a loved one, we have a choice to make. We can worry, complain, and whine or we can pray, trust, and seek wisdom.

The choice is up to us.

I know it is easier to do the first rather than the latter. Trust me when I say, ” I am not very good at waiting.” I must admit, I have been spoiled to this instant world in which we live, and I am having to learn to wait. I am having to learn to seek Godly wisdom while I wait, and I am learning that there are lessons to be learned while waiting.

Sometimes when I pray, I want to get up and –BAM!– I want an answer. God does not always work that way. Sometimes we have to wait. Sometimes the time is not right.

We have to remember that we can not see the whole picture as can God.

The best way for me to understand God is to relate my relationship to Him with the relationship between parent and child. After all, we are God’s children.

Sometimes our children ask for things and they do not understand what they are asking. Raising two boys, we get some pretty crazy questions. Sometimes we can answer, “yes”, sometimes we have to answer, “no”, and yet other times our answer is, “wait.”

Last weekend we were riding ATVs with our children. Our oldest son pulled up beside my husband and me and asked, “Can I let loose and see what this thing will do?” Of course my husband’s response was, “NO!” What seemed like a fun adventure to a child, would have most certainly turned tragic had we granted his request.

God is the same way with His children. There are times I have prayed and have either received a “yes” or “no”. These answers for the most part are easy to accept because the answer is final and we have clarity.

It is the times when we hear God say, “wait”, that are the hardest. These are the times when we have to decide what we do while we wait. As I said earlier, we have a choice to make. Do we whine or do we seek wisdom?

I pray that we will learn to trust God when he tells us to wait, and seek Him while we wait. There are times when God is wanting us to learn something while we are waiting and we need to seek that Godly wisdom. We may discover that what we thought we wanted at the time was not the right thing for us, or we may discover that it was not the right time and it will be answered in God’s time. Either way, we need to trust God’s answer.

God loves us and He knows what is best for us, just as we love our children and know what is best for them. He will give us what we need as He sees fit. Our job is to trust that “Father knows best,” and not to question God when he tells us to wait.

I hope this has been a blessing to you today.

I pray that we will remember to seek wisdom while we wait.

God bless you, friend.

5 thoughts on “Wisdom While we Wait

Please share your thoughts

