True Knowledge Comes from Above


back to school

“That their hearts might be comforted, being knit together in love,

and unto all riches of the full assurance of understanding,

to the acknowledgement of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ;

 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.”

Colossians 2: 2-3

The day has finally arrived!

Today is the first day of our new school year. Summer break has been one of adventure and excitement, but the time has come for us to put on our thinking caps and get back to learning.

Supplies have been bought and placed in backpacks, awaiting their turn for service. School uniforms have been purchased and pressed, ready to be worn. Classrooms have been carefully decorated in preparation for the arrival of new students.

I do not know about other teachers and students, but in our house, school is not an ugly word. My children enjoy learning and I enjoy teaching, therefore the first day of school is very exciting for us.

I was thinking about the new school year and what I wanted to write about today. As I read through different Scriptures, I came across this one. I was reminded once again what my job as a teacher really is: To share the love of God with each of my students.

We make it a priority at our school to teach our children about God and to share His love with them on a daily basis. Our principal tells our kids throughout the year that even if they learn the text from their books forward and backward, but they fail to learn about God and the salvation He offers, then we as teachers have failed them.

In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge”- this is the part of the verse that really stuck in my mind this morning. If I make it a priority to share the love of God with my students and to lead them to Christ, there will they find the true meaning of wisdom and knowledge.

Yes, I do believe that education is important. I enjoy watching my kids learn every day. I love to see that moment when something new is discovered, I can almost see the light bulb turn on above their heads. I enjoy seeing them have an aha moment: that moment when the concept they have been trying to grasp finally clicks. Those are priceless memories.

Being a teacher is often exhausting, and there are times when I feel like my efforts are in vain. These are the times when I will cling to today’s scripture and remember why I am truly a teacher. No matter what happens throughout the school year, no matter what trials I face, I will remember that teaching my children about God is what will truly lead them to wisdom and knowledge.

I know you may not be a school teacher, but I want to encourage you today, and remind you that no matter what your title is, someone is still learning from you every day. Ask yourself, “What am I teaching others today?” I pray that you will hide this verse in your heart. I pray that it will serve as a reminder that no matter what others learn from you, the most important thing you can teach them about is God.

2 thoughts on “True Knowledge Comes from Above

Please share your thoughts

