For Such a Time as This


time

“For if thou altogether holdest thy peace at this time,

then shall there enlargement and deliverance arise to the Jews from another place;

but thou and thy father’s house shall be destroyed:

and who knoweth whether thou art come to the kingdom for such a time as this?

Esther 4:14

Yesterday I used a program called Bible.is., which is through a ministry called Faith Comes By Hearing. I would encourage you to go and see all they have to offer. The program offers you a way to listen to the Bible. It gives you the option of many different translations. They also offer a dramatized version of the Scripture.

I picked the book of Esther to listen to yesterday. What a story that is.

There were many different parts of the story of Esther that spoke to me, but my favorite part is the Scripture that I have chosen to share today. I want to focus on the last part of verse 14: for such a time as this.

I encourage you, if you have not read the story of Esther, please take the time to do so. I have even included a link so that you may listen to the story being read.

To sum up the story without giving away the ending, Esther is chosen out of a group of girls to be the new queen. As queen, Esther has to make some decisions that could ultimately be the death of her. The scripture I have chosen today is a response given to Esther by the man who raised her, Mordecai. He reminds her that she has not been placed in the palace to hide from what is going on around her, but just maybe, she has been chosen, hand-picked by God for such a time as this. Maybe she has been chosen to do a great work, to make a difference in what seems to be a hopeless situation.

As I read this verse, I began to think about our lives as Christians. I do not know where you are in life. I do not know what you go through on a daily basis, what kind of trials you face, but I do know this: God knows. Whatever you are going through in life, do not be mistaken, God knows you are there, and He can use you if you will allow Him.

There may be times in life when you feel as if you are in a hopeless situation. I encourage you to look back on the story of Esther and remember what she was told. Maybe you have been brought here for such a time as this.

God will use you wherever you are if you will surrender your life to Him and allow Him to lead you.

What Esther feared to be the death of her, God used for His glory.

Let us always remember that what the world says is impossible, with God, is Him-possible.

God bless you.

Please share your thoughts

