Motivational Monday: Do You Have a Case?


Matthew 7 20Wherefore by their fruits ye shall know them.”

Matthew 7:20

I was talking, yesterday, with a family friend who came to speak at our church. In our conversation this question was brought up: “If you were arrested for being a Christian, would there be enough evidence to convict you?”

The more I thought about this question, the more it made sense to me.

I do not know a lot about the judicial system. I do know that in order to try a case, you first must have enough evidence to prove your case. If you can collect enough evidence to back up your claim, then you may proceed with your case.  If not, it will then be thrown out, due to a lack of evidence.

So let me ask you this same question, “Can you prove your case?”

Many of us do not know what it is like to be persecuted for our faith. Hopefully none of us will ever have to experience this, but let us just imagine for a moment that we did find ourselves in a place where we were being placed on trial for our faith. I am concerned that in the age in which we live, we could be closer to experiencing this than we would like to imagine.

Imagine you are sitting in church one Sunday Morning, and before you know it there are men standing next to you, guns in hand, accusing you of being a Christian. They have been told that you claim to be a Christian, and they are there to arrest you for this very reason. Would they have enough evidence to convict you on this charge?

In the verse that I have chosen to use today, Jesus is warning against false prophets. He says that a good tree can not bring forth bad fruit, just as a bad tree can not bring forth good fruit. (vs. 18)

What kind of fruit do you bear?

What kind of evidence would your fruit give in your case as  a Christian?

I pray that none of us will ever be placed on trial for our faith, however, if I am ever tried for my faith, I pray that God’s light will shine through me so brightly that no argument has to be made and that no discussion is necessary. I pray that those around me will see the love of God shining through me.

What about you?

Do you have a case?

If you were on trial for your faith, would there be enough evidence to convict you of being a child of God?

One thought on “Motivational Monday: Do You Have a Case?

  1. I have often said that I will probably never grow “old and gray” behind the pulpit; I will probably be arrested before then. At the rate things have been going, it would seem that by the end of the decade Christianity could be a capital offence. I predict that at least in the next 2-3 years “In God We Trust” will be deleted from pledges and currency (a strong case is going before the Supreme Court of Mass. this week). It’s all pretty sad, I must say.

    But the point that you make is that communion wafers hit the fan, will we be released or convicted? I would say that there are a great many who would get off with a slap on the wrist and a warning all because they could prove they were “coerced” or “manipulated” into going to church. The ones who will walk free are the ones who will claim to be “victims.”

    I hope and pray that God will give me the grace to bear up when persecution comes, if that be His will. The writer of Hebrews said that the “world was not worthy” of those who suffered persecution for their faith (Heb. 11:37-38). Right now many “Christians” aren’t even worthy of the the world.

    Like

Please share your thoughts

