Finding Peace in Uncertain Times


know-god-no-fear

“So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.”

Hebrews 13:6

Have you ever been in a scary situation? Have you ever been facing a situation in which you were uncertain of the outcome?

How are we supposed to handle times like these?

I am reminded of something that my mom would tell me when I was a little girl: “They might kill you, but they can’t eat you.”

Now, you may be thinking to yourself right now, “Valarie, that is not very comforting.” but, when you look at today’s scripture it does make a lot of sense. As a child, that simple phrase brought me comfort about many situations I had to face.

You see, what my mama said to me all those years ago still holds true today and though I did not realize it at the time, it is biblical.What she was trying to tell me then is exactly what Jesus was telling us in His word: Ultimately, there is nothing that man can do to us. No matter what you face, you do not have to be afraid because Jesus is always there.

What can man really do to you?

As we go through life, we are going to face many trials. Life has a way of throwing curve ball after curve ball. What we have to remember is this: If we have God on our side, we can not lose. “Even if they kill us they can’t eat us.”

We are told in God’s Word that we will have trials in this life, but that we do not have to worry, because Jesus has overcome the world. (John 16:33)

We live in a world of uncertainty. As each day goes on, more and more is happening that raises concern for Christians all over the world. We do not have to fear, however. We have promises from God that should bring us comfort. We have the promise of today’s Scripture to hold on to.

We can draw comfort this morning from the fact that yes, we are facing some uncertain times ahead. Yes, we are sure to have some struggles. We must remember that no matter what happens, we are in the hands of God. Our Scripture says when we find ourselves in trouble, we can Boldly say, “I will not fear what man shall do unto me.”

Friends, what my mama said to me all those years ago, still stands today. No matter what happens in this life, if we are covered by the blood of Jesus, man can not do anything to us. We may face trials, temptations, even death, but nothing that this world can throw at us can separate us from the love of God. If we will just keep the faith and continue to trust in God, He has promised us a home in Heaven with him some day.

I do not know what kinds of trials we may have to face in the coming months, and years, but I do know this: No matter what this world throws at us, we have a hope that can not be taken away from us, we have a promise of a hope and a future. (Jeremiah 29:11)

“Even if they kill you, they can’t eat you.”

4 thoughts on “Finding Peace in Uncertain Times

Please share your thoughts

