Guest Post: Peace In Your Journey


peaceful road2

“Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” John 14:27

Have you ever felt frantic? I witnessed frantic today. My husband caught a flight out of Atlanta-Hartsfield Airport this morning, which resulted in me driving home from the airport in pre-dawn metro traffic. If you have ever been to Atlanta, Georgia, you will understand the dread a driver feels at the mere mention of things like “the Connector” or “two lanes closed” or “stalled vehicle”. Drivers in every major metropolitan area have a thorough understanding of what it means to feel frantic.

After dropping my husband off at the airport, I was headed back out of the city while most daily commuters were driving into the city. The outbound lanes, while rather busy, were uncongested and flowing smoothly. As I breezed my way out of town in the darkness, my way being lit by the magnificent Harvest Moon, my thoughts turned to the other commuters.  While inbound drivers were navigating their way through six lanes of high speed, bumper-to-bumper traffic, jockeying for position, searching for exits, my cruise control was set on the posted speed limit and I calmly settled into the far right lane. I had completed my important task for the morning and could now return home with no worries and no need to hurry.

As I saw that wide ribbon of headlights on the other side of the freeway, it reminded me of our daily lives. There are times when life is simply, for want of a better word, frantic. We are urgently running here and there, struggling to meet deadlines, navigating our way through or around obstacles which at times obstruct our pathway. But when we have our hearts set on God, when we put His will at the forefront of our lives, we can find ourselves experiencing His peace.  Even though the world around us may be in a frantic rush, He can grant us peace of mind as we rest in the knowledge that we are accomplishing the goals He has for us.

And just like that daily commute, even when we find ourselves caught up in the frantic rush of everyday life, He will light and guide us on our way, illuminating the darkness, helping us navigate the traffic, safely delivering us to our destinations, and rejoicing with us when we accomplish our goals. Be encouraged! We are not alone on this journey!

By: Cynthia Hill Collier

Please share your thoughts

