Be Prepared


bible3

“Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.” Psalm 119:11

Do we take the word of God for granted? Have we become so accustomed to having it around that we have forgotten how precious it is? What if a time came when we did not have access to God’s Word any more? What if the only Scripture we had were the ones we had learned in our lifetime? What if the only Scriptures we had were the ones which we had hidden in our hearts?

Every day at school we have a certain routine that we follow. Being a Christian school, we center the things we do around God and His Word. We begin each day with our pledges. We recite the pledge not only to the American flag, but also to the Christian flag and to the Bible. In our pledge to the Bible we recite,”… I will hide its word in my heart that I might not sin against God.”

I realized one day that I was reciting this pledge while never really thinking about what I was saying. As God brought this to my attention, I committed in my heart to really mean those words when I made my pledge every morning.

Do we, as Christians, really understand the importance of Scripture? Do we really do as the Bible tells us to do and hide it in our hearts?

What if the day were to come when our Bibles were taken away? It may seem like a far-fetched idea, but if we stop and look at the world in which we live, is it really? We have already taken God out of our schools. We have taken Him out of our government. We are even trying to take the phrase, “In God we trust”, off of our currency. When we look at things from that perspective is it really hard to believe that we could one day lose access to God’s Word? I do not think it is.

I do not know about you, but I want to make sure that I never take God’s Word for granted. I want to make sure that I do as I pledge each day at school; I want to hide God’s word in my heart that I might not sin against Him.

I want to make sure that I hide God’s word in my heart so when temptation comes my way I will know how to resist the devil. When Jesus was tempted in the wilderness, He used the Word of God against every temptation that Satan handed to Him. (Matthew 4:3-11)

We are told in God’s Word that if we resist the devil he will flee from us. ( James 4:7) How do we resist the devil? We do so with the Word of God. How can we resist the devil if we do not hide God’s word in our hearts? It makes sense, does it not?

God’s Word is full of wisdom that we need every day. God’s Word is the only book in which we can find every answer we will ever need.

I want to encourage you today. Study God’s word. Hide His words in your heart, so that if the day ever comes when all you have left is the Word that is hidden in you heart, you will have what you need.

Jesus knew the importance of God’s word when he walked on this earth. If Jesus knew how important God’s Word was to Him, how much more do we need God’s Word in the world in which we live?

3 thoughts on “Be Prepared

Please share your thoughts

