Motivational Monday: You Are “Thumb body” Special


thumbs up

 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvelous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well.” Psalm 139:14

Do something for me. Hold your thumb up in front of you so that you can see it, just as if you are giving a thumbs-up to someone.

Do you feel silly? It’s okay, everyone is doing the same thing so at least you are not being silly all by yourself.

There is a song that I learned when I was just a little girl. It is called, “God made me thumb body special.” Part of the song goes like this:

“God made me thumb body special,
thumb body special He made me,
God made me thumb body special,
thumb body special yes indeed.”

Do you know that you are special and unique? On that very finger that you are holding up is something that makes you different from anyone else.

Do you know what that is?

It is your thumb print.

No one in this world has one quite like yours. Now, stop for a moment and think of how many people are in this world, and how many are born every single day. Do you realize just how special you are?

What an awesome God we serve that He can make so many different people, yet each one of us is unique in our own way.

Do you need to be reminded today that you are special? It is okay if you do. I know I need to hear it from time to time. I want to offer you a few Scriptures that you can hold on to for those times when you need a little reminder.

The first verse that came to my mind when I was thinking about what to write was Psalm 139:13:

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.”

God knew you long before anyone else did. God created your very body. While you were still being formed in your mother’s body, God saw you.

The next verse that came to mind was Matthew 10:30:

“But the very hairs of your head are all numbered”

Not only did God see you when you were still being formed, but even now, he knows the very number of hairs that are on your head.

Another great verse to remember is Genesis 1:26a:

“Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, after our likeness…”

If you ever doubt just how much God loves you and how special you are to Him, think back on this verse. God made you and me in His image.

Finally, I have one more verse to share with you. When I was thinking of verses that I could share about being special and unique, John 3:16 came to mind. It reads:

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.”

Go back and read that verse again, but this time in the place of “the world” place your name there. Wow! Do you realize that you are loved? Do you realize that long before you were even created that you were so special that God sent His only Son to die on a cross for you?

I want to encourage you today. You are “Thumb body” special indeed. God has made you unique. There is no one on this earth that is just like you. Please do not ever forget how precious you are to God.

4 thoughts on “Motivational Monday: You Are “Thumb body” Special

  1. I’ve never heard this song but what a cute song for children’s lesson along with the fingerprints! Perfect scriptures to remind us how special we are in God’s eyes.

    Like

    • I am glad you enjoyed it. I know the song is meant for kids, but I do believe that we all need to be reminded from time to time of just how special we all are. God bless you.

      Like

Please share your thoughts

