Encouraging the Encourager: Reaching One at a Time


Encouragement5

Dear Fellow Encourager,

I want to take a minute to encourage you. I know I have done this before, but I feel that it is time for it again. I understand that as we encourage others we sometimes find ourselves needing encouragement. That is what I want to do for you this morning.

First, I want to thank you for what you are doing. It is not an easy job to encourage others when in your own life you deal with discouragement every day. Thank you for allowing God to use you to encourage those around you. Thank you for letting His light shine through you.

A thought that has been going through my mind since I awoke this morning is that each one of us sets out to reach people every day. The whole idea behind having a blog is to use our words to reach other people. Some of us write to inform; others write to educate. Some of us use our writing as an art form. The one thing we all have in common is that each of us, no matter our topic, is ministering every day. My prayer is that we are using our gift of writing as a ministry for God. Each and every day we are reaching people with our words. We may not even be able to comprehend the number of people who are being ministered to by our words.

A question I want you to keep in mind is this: What message are you sending out across this vast plane we call the internet? Are you encouraging others? Are you spreading the good news of Jesus Christ and the price He paid for our sins? Are you showing others the way to Heaven? God has given you a gift to write. I pray that you are using it to honor Him and bring glory to His name.

As I pondered upon our jobs as writers, something else came to mind: Out of all the many people who read our words, how many hearts do we touch? Have you ever stopped to think about that. There is really no way, outside of “likes” and “comments”, to know how many people are actually getting our message. We simply have to trust that God is using our words to encourage others and minister for Him.

God has promised us that His word will return unto Him void- Isaiah 55:10-11

The encouragement I have for you today is this: Each one can reach one.

As I was reading through the different notifications of Encouragement for Every Day, I ran across something that made me think of this phrase. At the bottom of one my posts, I read that a number of people had been reached, and one “liked” it. I read that comment and God brought the thought to my mind, “You touched a life today.” I want you to stop and think about that with me for a minute. If we are not careful we will get caught up in the numbers game. What I mean by this is that if we are not careful we can get so consumed by the number of people we are reaching that we can lose sight of the real goal, and that is reaching people and ministering to their needs.

It does not matter how many people we reach, if we are not ministering to those people and sharing God’s love with them then we are failing. I want us to remember that it does not matter if we get one “like” or one million “likes”. What is important is that we are spreading God’s word and His message of salvation to others. We have each been given the gift of reaching people. If each one can reach one then we are doing our job. We already know that God has promised to bless if we are doing our part, so we should not worry about whether we are reaching one or one hundred.

There is a song that I love. A lady by the name of Babbie Mason sings it. I want to share it with you today as a little encouragement for the encourager. No matter how many we are reaching, we are spreading God’s word, if we “Each One Reach One.”

Love In Christ,

Valarie

 

3 thoughts on “Encouraging the Encourager: Reaching One at a Time

  1. Hey Valerie, I just stumbled upon your post today… The “letter” for the encourager. It really was encouraging to me and that’s why I just want to let you know about it.
    Sometimes I’m also thinking about this and then I think of the healing of the 10 men in Luke 17,11-19: All got healed but only 1 came back to Jesus and told him about the healing.
    Blessings from Germany!

    Like

Please share your thoughts

