One Way…The Only Way


one way

“Thomas saith unto him, ‘Lord, we know not whither thou goest; and how can we know the way?’Jesus saith unto him, ‘I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” John 14:5-6

Have you ever had to stop and get directions? I know, I know, this is a touchy subject between men and women. It is an age-old debate that I am sure will never end. Ladies say, “Stop and ask for directions.” Men say, “I can find it myself.”

I will tell you right now, I can not get anywhere by myself. I jokingly say that when God made me, He left out my sense of direction. As funny as that may sound I am here to assure you that it is true. If I am not familiar with the area or if I do not have a GPS, I promise you that you do not want me to drive. My husband on the other hand is great with directions. Thank God, I married a truck driver. I have yet to see him get lost. While I say I have no sense of direction, I jokingly call him my human GPS. I never have to worry when we get in our car to go somewhere. Even if my husband does not know exactly where we are going, he always seems to find his way there.

In the verses that I have used today, Jesus is talking to His disciples before He is to be crucified. His disciples seem to be a bit confused by what they are being told. We, on the other hand, can see more clearly what Jesus was talking about because unlike the disciples we are looking back at this story. They were trying to understand what was coming in their future. Jesus is trying to help His disciples understand the things that are about to take place. He is offering them some encouragement as well. (John 14:1) Somewhat confused, Thomas asked Jesus how they are supposed to know how to get to where He is going if they do not even know where He is going. Jesus lovingly responds to Thomas and says, “I am the way.”

Friends, Jesus is still saying the same thing to us today. He is the way, THE ONLY WAY. Too many times we are taught that there are many roads to Heaven. Too many times we are taught that we can change this or tweak that and still find Salvation. My Bible tells me that there is ONE way to Salvation and it is through the shed blood of Jesus Christ. Matthew 7:13-14 tells us, “Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat:Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.” 

I want to encourage you today. Let Jesus be your GPS. Allow Him to show you the way to Salvation. Just as Jesus told his disciples, “I am the way.” He is telling us still today. Do not let yourself be deceived. There are many who will try to tell you that many roads lead to Heaven. God’s word tells us that there is only one way.

I pray today that you are allowing God to lead you. I pray that you are allowing Him to have the driver’s seat. You see, He does not need a map to show you the way; He is the way.

If in reading this today you realize that you are on the wrong road, if you realize that in trying to make your own way you have gotten lost, there is still hope. Pull over, stop and ask God for directions. I promise you that He will meet you right where you are. If you ask Him, He will climb in the driver’s seat and He will lead you where you need to go.

God bless you today.

One thought on “One Way…The Only Way

Please share your thoughts

