A Lesson From the Wisest Man


bible

“Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you.” Matthew 7:7

Have you ever asked God for something? Did you get it? Maybe you had to wait. Maybe God said no.

What makes the difference in the way God answers our prayers?

This morning my devotion was on Solomon. I read from 1 Kings 3.

Solomon was just a child when He was called to be king. Immediately Solomon realized that he alone could not do the job he had been called to do. In verse 5 God tells Solomon, Ask! What shall I give you?”

In verses 7 and 9 we read Solomon’s reply: Now, O Lord my God, You have made Your servant king instead of my father David, but I am a little child; I do not know how to go out or come in.Therefore give to Your servant an understanding heart to judge Your people, that I may discern between good and evil. For who is able to judge this great people of Yours?” 

  It did not take Solomon long to realize that he was not in and of himself equipped for the job to which he had been called. He realized that he would need God’s guidance and help if he was going to do the job that had been set before him.

How many times do we set out to accomplish a task, never stopping to ask God for His blessing much less seek His guidance in completing this task? How many times are we disappointed when things do not go the way we had planned for them to go? I believe that there is a lesson to be learned from Solomon.

As we continue to read in I Kings 3:10, we see that God was pleased with the request of Solomon. He could have asked for anything he wanted, yet the only thing he asked of God was wisdom. Solomon wanted an understanding heart so that he might judge the people adequately.

In being honest with yourself, what would you have asked for? You might have asked for plenty of money, good health, or a new car. Do you think that wisdom would have been your request? I have to be honest with you and tell you that wisdom probably would not have been my first request. Solomon knew exactly what he was in need of at that moment, and he asked God for it. I believe that we need to learn from this part of the Scripture. We need to make sure that we have our priorities in order. When God asks us, “What shall I give you?” we need to make sure that we answer with a pure heart, and with a heart that has God’s will in mind, not our own fleshly desires.

In verse 11, we read God’s response to Solomon:  Then God said to him: “Because you have asked this thing, and have not asked long life for yourself, nor have asked riches for yourself, nor have asked the life of your enemies, but have asked for yourself understanding to discern justice, 12 behold, I have done according to your words; see, I have given you a wise and understanding heart, so that there has not been anyone like you before you, nor shall any like you arise after you. God did just as Solomon had asked. He gave Solomon wisdom and understanding so that He could judge the people. And they lived happily ever after, right?

No, there is more to this part of the story. Let us keep reading and see what else God tells Solomon.

If we continue to read, in verse 13 we find that God tells Solomon:And I have also given you what you have not asked: both riches and honor, so that there shall not be anyone like you among the kings all your days. 14 So if you walk in My ways, to keep My statutes and My commandments, as your father David walked, then I will lengthen your days.”  It amazes me to see that not only did God give Solomon what he had asked for, but He also blessed him with even more than he had asked. 

As I read this portion of Scripture this morning, I asked the question, “Why did God see fit to bless Solomon with even more than he had asked?” Why do you think this is? As I pondered this question, Matthew 6:33 came to my mind. It reads: “But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” It then occurred to me: God knew Solomon’s heart. God knew with what intentions Solomon was requesting wisdom. God knew that Solomon had his priorities straight, and because of that, God blessed Solomon with what he asked plus even more.

So what do I want us to take from this lesson this morning? I want us to remember to keep our priorities in order. When God says to you, Ask! What shall I give you?”  remember this story. Remember how Solomon asked God for what he was really in need of, and THEN God blessed Solomon with even more. I want us to remember that God takes care of His children. God wants to give us the desires of our hearts. It is up to us, however, to make sure that we have things in the right order. Let us remember to seek the kingdom of God first, and then trust God to take care of our needs. We might even find that He blesses us with some of our wants as well.

I pray this has encouraged your heart today. God is so good. He loves us beyond measure. I want us to focus on serving Him and doing His will. Then I want us to trust that God will take care of us.

God bless you friend.

One thought on “A Lesson From the Wisest Man

Please share your thoughts

