Which Way Are You Going?


A_fork_in_the_road

Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper. The ungodly are not so: but are like the chaff which the wind driveth away. Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgment, nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous. For the Lord knoweth the way of the righteous: but the way of the ungodly shall perish.”

Psalm 1

I love to read the Psalms. What a picture each one paints for us. Some of the Psalms we can use as prayers. Some we can draw wisdom from, and others are stepping-stones that teach us how to live. Normally I pick one or two verses and use them, but there was no way for me to separate this chapter. I felt it would lose its meaning if I only used part of it.

This Psalm, for me, is a stepping stone. It gives me a path and shows me the way I should be living and warns me of the things that I should avoid, thus leaving me with a decision to make. Which way will I choose? Will I follow God or will I follow my own way? Each has a certain end. It is up to me to decide which way I will go.

I love the contrast that is painted here for us. We have a choice to make: Tree or Chaff?

Have you ever seen a tree that is planted close to the water? It is tall and beautiful. Its branches are strong and full of beautiful green leaves. It is firm in its foundation and is not easily shaken. I believe that this is how God would have us to be as Christians. We are to be rooted in God and in His word. We will find that as we spend time with God each day we will become as this tree. We will be strong in Christ and our faith will grow. As we study God’s Word we will find that our roots are becoming more and more grounded and that we are firmer in our foundation of Godliness and in our beliefs. As we remain close to God we will find that He is growing us into the beautiful creatures that He intended for us to be.

Now let us think about the chaff. This is the part of either wheat or corn that is left after the seed has been removed. It is very thin and light. It is useless, and can be easily blown away by whatever wind comes along. This, for me, paints a picture of one who is not a Christian, or one who is not grounded in the Word of God.

If we are not careful we can become as this chaff. If we step away from God and His word we will find that instead of being strong and mighty as the tree planted next to the water, we will become dried up and frail. Instead of being grounded, with our roots firmly planted in the ways of the Lord we will find ourselves being blown around by the winds of adversity and sin.

Each of us has a choice to make today. Will we choose to be firmly planted in God as the tree or will we choose to be like the chaff, frail and tossed about? I want us to realize today that the choice we make has eternal consequences. Will we follow God and be called blessed or will we choose to make our own way and perish?

I pray today that this has painted a clear picture in our minds of the life that God would have us to live. I hope we can see today that God wants us to be rooted in Him. If we will stay close to God and allow Him to live in us He will make us into stronger Christians. He will mold us into what He would have us to be. The choice is ours: Tree or Chaff. Which Way Will You Choose?

This is my choice: “And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.Joshua 24:15 

My prayer for you today is that you will follow God. Allow Him to guide you, to grow you, and to ground you in His word today.

9 thoughts on “Which Way Are You Going?

Please share your thoughts

