Show a Little Kindness Today


kindness

 “Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness,humility, meekness, and patience…And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.”

Colossians 3:12&14

What ever happened to living by the golden rule?

What happened to “do unto others as you would have them do unto you?”

It seems these days that people are so busy with their own lives that they have forgotten about those around them. If you do not believe me, go to town, anywhere in town, and just observe people. Everyone seems to be in such a hurry, never stopping to consider the feelings of others. Never taking the time to say “thank you,” “please,” or “excuse me.”

As I read Colossians 3 this morning, my heart was touched. It caused me to stop and take a look at myself. As I read about the ways a Christian is to act, I could not help but take a self-evaluation. As I read about each characteristic that a child of God is to possess I began to ask myself, “Does this describe me?” Some of them I could check off as accomplished, yet others I knew still needed some work.

I believe as Christians, God wants us to consistently grow and change. I believe He reveals things to us daily to which we should pay attention. I also believe that it is a good idea to search the Scriptures for the ways God tells us we should be as His children.

I want to offer some encouragement today, but I also want to extend to you a challenge.

Be encouraged today in knowing that we will never stop growing as Christians until we have finished our race. There will always be places in our lives where we can grow and become better. There will always be room for improvement. What is important is that we do not give up. We must not allow ourselves to get complacent, to get comfortable, or to believe that we are good enough. God wants us to press on towards perfection in Him.

My challenge for you today is a two-part challenge. First, I want to challenge you to take a self-evaluation. Search your heart and see if you are bearing the fruit that God would have you to bear as a Christian. If you find yourself lacking, it is okay. Ask God to help you in those areas, and ask Him to continue to improve the fruit which you already bear.

The second part to the challenge is this: Be kind to those who God allows to come into your life. Let the love of Jesus shine through you, so that they too may see the work that is being done in your life. It is no coincidence that you cross paths with the people who you do on a daily basis. I believe that God places each one of them there as an opportunity. Sometimes it may be to witness. Some may just need a kind word. Others may need a pat on the back and a word of encouragement. If you will listen with your heart, God will tell you what each one needs.

2 thoughts on “Show a Little Kindness Today

Please share your thoughts

