The Joy of the Lord is my Strength


gods-hand

The Lord your God in your midst, The Mighty One, will save;
He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love,
He will rejoice over you with singing.”
Zephaniah 3:17

Dear Friend,

Our family was in a battle last week. I am not talking about a physical battle, of course, but a battle nonetheless. The enemy tried every trick in his book to defeat us. His tactics ranged all the way from sick pets to problems with our water well. We even encountered a problem with our internet on Monday that could not be fixed until Friday. All of this combined with a few other mishaps had me feeling very much under attack! We knew immediately where these fiery darts were coming from and through faith we were not going to be defeated. At times that is easier said then done.

I chuckled a few times through our ordeal and thought to myself, “This must be how Job felt.” I do fully understand, however, that our experience was nothing compared to Job’s suffering. I must admit that it was quite enough for me.

I am sure as you are reading these words you too are remembering times when you encountered the same kind of attack. Maybe you are in your own battle right now. Maybe you or a loved one are facing what seems to be an impossible situation.

I want to encourage your heart today by reminding you that God is not deaf to your pain. He has not turned His back on you in your time of need. Too many times we are quick to think that God has forgotten about us when we fall into these various trials.

Do you remember the story of Job? God allowed Job to be tested as a witness to His faithfulness. Satan was looking for someone whom he could test. God said, “Have you considered my servant Job?” Wow! God knew that Job was up for the task. Although Job did have a moment of whining where God had to put him in his place, he never turned his back on God. Even after having his own wife question his sanity, Job remained faithful to his Lord and Savior. Job said, “Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him.”(Job 13:15) 

Will you choose to have that type of faith today? Maybe God is wanting to use you as an example just as He did Job. Maybe God is wanting to grow your faith. Even though we often do not understand God’s ways, we can still trust that He has our best in mind. We are His children, His creation. He has promised to never leave us nor forsake us. Rest in that promise today, Friend.

Last week, as we faced our various trials, what kept us going was remembering the promises of God and the times He had already carried us through. We faced one hurdle at a time, together.

I would love to tell you that I confidently jumped every hurdle we crossed. However, I must be honest. I stumbled and fell a time or two. The weight of the battle became more than I could bear. Although tired, I did not admit defeat. I went to Jesus physically and emotionally worn out. Do you know what I found? I found peace, and comfort. I did not find chastisement or ridicule. I found the strength I needed to pick my sword back up and head back into battle. You see, Friend, I knew that I had God on my side and that He was fighting for me.

Whatever you are going through today remember that God is fighting for you. He loves you. He is rooting for you. Trust in Him. Rest in Him. Let him carry you through that trial with which the enemy is testing you. Take some time today to remember all the times that God has carried you so far. He has not failed you before and He will not fail you now.

Be encouraged, Friend. God is fighting for you.

Love,
~Valarie~

2 thoughts on “The Joy of the Lord is my Strength

  1. David Hill says:

    It’s so encouraging to hear from othets, that we’re not alone in our struggles. Thanks for allowing us to draw courage, from your victory!!

    Like

Please share your thoughts

