Motivational Monday: When you are in Need


praying hands

” Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.” Hebrews 4:16

Have you ever found yourself in need but were unsure of just what you needed?

Where do we go when we are in need? Where do we go when we need advice or a shoulder to cry on?

Many times we go to a friend, or someone who we trust will be there for us. Sometimes we go to a parent, a grandparent, or maybe our pastor.

Sometimes the need is so great that there is only One who can meet that need. His name is Jesus

Last week I found myself in that place. I found myself in need of something, but could not voice exactly what it was. My heart was crying out for something, but I could not put my finger on exactly what it was. I needed a touch from God.

I found myself wanting to write. I wanted to pour out encouragement for each of you, yet as I sat to write every day my mind was blank. I searched for Scripture to share that would help you through your week, but nothing would come. I was empty.

As I prayed and read my Bible every day, I felt my heart crying out to God. Each Scripture I came across was one that I needed to hear. My heart would soak each one up like a sponge. My soul would drink them in like the dry ground after a summer rain.

I quickly realized that I was not going to be able to pass along words of encouragement or wisdom as long as my heart was in need of the very same thing. I knew that the best thing to do was to spend my time alone with God every day and soak up what He had for me. Each day as I sat alone and read my Bible and prayed, I felt God ministering to my heart. As each day passed I felt more encouraged, more alive in my Spirit. I began to feel full rather than empty in my heart.

As hard as it was to take that time for myself, I quickly realized that it was necessary for me. My mind needed the break, my heart needed the encouragement, and my soul needed the wisdom that I found in God’s Word.

I was a little hesitant to share this with you today because for me it is very personal, but I realized as I began to write that someone may need to hear this. Maybe you have found yourself in this place. Maybe you are in this very place right now. I pray that this ministers to your heart. I pray this encourages you today.

There is no shame in needing a break. There is no shame in needing some time alone. Many times in the Bible we read where Jesus went out alone to pray. He realized the importance of time alone with God. He knew that His strength came from God. He was setting an example for each of us.

Let me offer you some words of encouragement today: If you ever find yourself empty, or in need of something that you can not put your finger on, go to Jesus. Take time to pray and read your Bible. Seek out God and you will find Him.

We are called to be ministers for Christ, but we will not be able to do that if we are not taking the time that we need for ourselves.

The Scripture we looked at today told us to, “Come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.” If you are in need today I pray that you will do just that. I promise you, you will find what you need at the feet of Jesus.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Motivational Monday: When you are in Need

  1. We are currently attending an event in the UK called Spring Harvest. Stress slowly ebbed away last night in the first worship session. It is good to have a break as it is so easy to forget that all of us need to feed from Jesus in addition to running around like Martha doing all the stuff that has to be done. Thank you for the reminder.

    Like

Please share your thoughts

