Jesus is our Rock


photo by: David Benbennick

photo by: David Benbennick

 

 

 “The Lord lives,

and blessed be my rock,

and exalted be my God,

the rock of my salvation

2 Samuel 22:47

 

 

Do you ever find yourself struggling? Do you ever feel like you are just barely keeping your nose above the water. When we find ourselves feeling this way, we need to take a moment and examine our lives. When we do this we may find that we have placed our faith in the wrong place.

I am reminded this morning of a song we sing in church that goes like this:

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ Name.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness seems to hide His face,
I rest on His unchanging grace.
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

His oath, His covenant, His blood,
Support me in the whelming flood.
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh may I then in Him be found.
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.

Hymn written by: Edward Mote 1834

So many times in life we are tempted to rely on other things and other people to hold us up, be it drugs, alcohol, friends, our children, or even our spouses. They may seem stable for a while, but eventually these things will fail us and we will find ourselves sinking in despair.

I have always loved the story of Peter, and how he wanted to walk on the water with Jesus. Peter had confidence that he would be able to walk on the water, and he did for a while, but when the wind picked up and the waves began to form, poor Peter began to sink. You see, Peter took his eyes off of the rock. He began to place his faith in something else other than Jesus.

Now, it would be a sad story if it ended there, but it does not. The story goes on to tell us that when Peter realized he was sinking he cried out, “Lord, save me!” And IMMEDIATELY Jesus reached down and caught him.

Here is what I want to encourage you with today. Do not put your faith in things that can not hold you up, And do not let the devil lie to you and tell you that you can make it on your own. Put your faith in the One true God who is your rock.

If you do, however, find yourself sinking because you have taken your eyes off of Him, cry out!  Jesus reached down and picked up Peter out of the water, and our Heavenly Father will do the same for us. All we have to do is ask.

Scripture taken from: Matthew 14:22-33

2 thoughts on “Jesus is our Rock

Please share your thoughts