A Job Well Done


well done

“Whether therefore ye eat, or drink,

or whatsoever ye do,

do all to the glory of God.”

I Corinthians 10:31

Have you ever had  a job that was not so glamorous?

Did you wonder if it even mattered whether you finished or not?

According to today’s verse, whatever job you are asked to do should be done to glorify God.

My boys and I finally finished our job yesterday. We have spent the past couple of weeks helping a man in our church clear some nasty little weeds from his field. It felt so good to finally complete the task at hand, and to be able to look back and see the progress.

It was not a very glamorous job, it did not get the attention of the media, but I believe that God was pleased with our work. After all, is that not the most important part of a job?

What job have you been called to do? Do you sometimes wonder if it is worth it, if you are really doing any good?

I know that there are times in life when we are called to do a job that we may not want to do. Sometimes we are called to do a job that is not the most fun.

The thing to remember is this: No matter what you do, do it to the best of your ability, and do it to honor God and bring glory to His name.

Pulling goat weeds is hard work. It is a little tedious at times, and hot most of the time. But knowing that we are helping someone in need and teaching my boys what it means to work is worth every minute of it.

I pray whatever job you have been called to do that you will do it to the best of your ability, I pray that you will do it to bring honor and glory to God, and I pray that you will use every opportunity that you are given to minister to those around you.

One day, when we look back on all the things we have done in this life, I want us to be able to say, ” I did my best.” but even more important than that, I want us to hear God say, ” Well done thou good and faithful servant.”

Please share your thoughts

