Where do we Go?


English: TO DISCOVER THE TRUTH AND FIGHT FOR T...

photo credit: Wikipedia.org

I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.

 My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth.”

Psalm 121:1-2

Where do you go when you need help?

“Well,” you might say,”that is a pretty open-ended question.”

It all depends on what kind of help you are looking for, correct?

If I am wanting to build a house, I would go to a building contractor, or at least someone who had successfully built a house before.

If I want to plant a garden, where do I go? I would go to a green house, or to a home improvement store where I could ask questions and buy supplies.

Any project we are looking to embark upon would be best started only after consulting the right people, obtaining the knowledge needed to make wise decisions, and then securing the needed supplies to finish the project successfully.

Why then do we so often jump off into life without first taking the time to prepare?

My husband and I have a dream of building/buying a new home some day. We have been praying about it and exploring our options. Yesterday, we made the decision to go look at some houses and ask some questions. It did not take us long to realize that we had jumped the gun just a bit.

What started out as an adventure to find a home, soon turned into a multitude of questions for which we had no answers, and more information than one mind could possibly absorb in one evening.

As we started home, I wearily looked at my husband and said, “We need to keep praying,” to which he humbly agreed.

Too many times in life, we are so eager to get something done that we forget to properly prepare.

As I think back on the events that unfolded Yesterday, I am reminded of Solomon. Here was a young man who suddenly finds himself  in a position for which he realizes he is not qualified.  Solomon cried out to God for wisdom and God honored that prayer. (1 Kings 3)

When we find ourselves faced with a situation that we do not understand, or feel we are not properly equipped for, the first thing we should do is cry out to God. Sadly, many times we leave this step out and carelessly wonder in our own ignorance for some time. Only after we have exhausted all our energy do we seek God’s guidance and wisdom.

I want to encourage you today with what I feel God has been speaking to me. When you face tough decisions, seek God first. There is no shame is saying, “I need to pray about this.” Go to God, cry out as Solomon did, and seek the wisdom that can only come from our Heavenly Father. Then, when you have been filled with God’s wisdom, when you have the knowledge you need to make a wise decision, go forward. Move forward, however, only after you are sure that you are following God’s will and not the desires of your own heart or the desires of men.

God will bless those who seek Him first. The Bible tells us:

” But if from thence thou shalt seek the Lord thy God,

thou shalt find him,

if thou seek him with all thy heart and with all thy soul.”

Deuteronomy 4:29″

I pray you find encouragement in these Scriptures this morning.

“God always gives His best to those who leave the choice with him.”

Jim Elliot