Motivational Monday: Make it Count


Make-It-Count

“So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.” Psalm 90:12

Have you ever heard anyone say, “You have one shot; make it count”?

My husband will tell our boys this when he is out hunting with them. When they have shot and missed and have one bullet left, he will tell them, “You have one shot; make it count.” When we would take the kids fishing and the day was winding down, the kids would say, “Can I cast one more time?” and of course we would tell them,”Sure, you have one more shot; make it count.”

This phrase came to my mind when I woke up this morning. I have been thinking about today and how differently we may do things if we knew that it was our last shot.

What if today was your last shot?

What if today was the last chance you had to make a difference?

What if today was your last day to live for the Lord?

Would you do anything different?

Would you change anything about the way you are living?

I always try to write on Mondays about something that will motivate us. I want us to think for just a moment about the question that I have given. I pray that it will motivate us to think throughout our day about how we are living.

Are you doing everything you can to live for God?

Are you sharing God’s love with those around you?

Are you taking the time to show your family that you love them?

As we ponder this thought I pray that God will speak to us about our lives. I pray that if there are things we need to change that we will listen. I pray that if in examining our hearts we find that there are areas we need to turn over to God that we will not put those things off for one more day. We do not know when it may be our last shot. We do not know when our time may be up and God will call us into eternity.

I pray that these words have motivated you today. I pray that this has given you a little food for thought today.

If thinking about your “last shot” causes you some concern, if there are things that you know you need to change, I encourage you to take the time to do that. It is not too late.

God has blessed us with another day. I pray that we will use it to bring honor and glory to His name.

I ask you again in closing: What if today was your last shot? Would you make it count?

2 thoughts on “Motivational Monday: Make it Count

Please share your thoughts